We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lark Lodge

Open plan sitting, kitchen, dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan sitting, kitchen, dining room
Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Open plan sitting, kitchen, dining room
Kitchen area
Four poster king bed with en suite wet room
One of the Twin bedrooms
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sarahk198...
London
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in Lark Lodge, in Lackford Lakes Barns, for three nights, as a group of seven women aged between 14 and 70. The setting is lovely, very secluded and quiet with a nature reserve just a few minutes away for long country walks and delicious locally made ice cream.

The house is well maintained and mostly clean, just a few pesky cobwebs in the corners. The showers are really good, with monsoon heads as an option. The open plan lounge/diner is a nice communal area but could probably do with one more soft chair. The TV is really old so there is loud background noise but there is a good range of channels available. There is a terrace with a small table for sitting/eating outside. The owners provided a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk and crumpets which was very much appreciated.

The complex has a couple of holiday rentals within a gated square. There is also a fun games room with pool table, football table, table tennis and darts, a boules area and a TV for watching owls. The house adjoining ours to the outside of the complex was noisy late at night, apparently there is a group of young men living there for a year and they have been having loud all night parties at weekends. This disrupted the sleep of the people in the adjoining room.

A warning - use the address and directions on the website and not by typing Lark Lodge into google maps. We were directed to a nearby village and ended up at a private residence called Lark Lodge. When we told the owners about this they didn't seem very interested in the problem. We had also been given the wrong code to the key safe so luckily the owner was on site to help us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments. We have a new flat screen TV to go into Lark Lodge and your comment has spurred me to get it changed over asap. We'll take on board your comments about an additional soft chair for the sitting room. I'm so sorry you were disturbed by neighbours on one of the nights. I have spoken with them about this because I too was disturbed and I am confident that this will not be a recurring problem. I was quite surprised that you had problems finding us and it makes me wonder if perhaps you didn't receive our access statement which we generally send out once the balancing payment is received, it details directions, post code and key safe numbers. Thank you very much for writing your review, we do appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane P
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil with baby owls.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We booked this place with little notice and it was just lovely. The cottages are nicely restored with everything you could need aswell as little suprises like a cupboard full of games and a few DVD's. The accomodation is one of six that faces inwards into a large grassy courtyard which is a fantastic safe space for the children to play. There is a games room with table tennis and so on and there's also a webcam set up to watch the owlets that have hatched. The Barns back onto Lackford Lakes which is great for country walks and spotting slightly different wildlife, dragonflies, king fishers, bats...and the trip to Bury is about 15 minutes for towny stuff. All in all a good stay, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Space of the lounge.
Liked least: lack of wi-fi.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oliver B
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
Thank you so much for coming to stay.
Best wishes from all of us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrich K
Siegburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review, we really appreciate it. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing