We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accommodation very clean and well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cart Lodge

Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helenmary...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful accommodation very clean and well equipped kitchen facility”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Quiet location short car journey to shops and nearby villages.excellent nearby pubs.the lodge itself was excellent for children and adults with safe enclosed garden.there were plenty of. Bathrooms for all the family.
We had a very comfortable and happy holiday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2018
Thank you, we're so please that you were comfortable and enjoyed all 3 bathrooms as well as the enclosed garden.
Hope you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewgI2...
Pewaukee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect accommodation for family visit”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Great, unique and wonderfully converted barn located close to Bury St Edmunds. Perfect accommodation for a family with large garden area. The lodge had spacious rooms with plenty of well equipped bathrooms and kitchen. Emma (the owner) was attentive to our needs and responded quickly before we arrived.. Everything worked well and had everything we needed. Kids enjoyed the games room and lawn games available. Useful to have a communal washer and dryer facility on site. We will certainly stay again when we come back to this area and recommend to others.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
I'm pleased to hear that your children enjoyed the large enclosed garden, games room and lawn games. There is certainly lots of space in Cart lodge and the rest of Lackford Lakes Barns where you can enjoy additional gardens and use the communal laundry and games room. We hope you come again, many of our guests do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly T
1 review
“Peaceful, relaxing, a lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Cart Lodge is a spacious barn, well equipped and in a very peaceful setting with its own garden. Many places to visit nearby and a lovely walk around Lackford Lakes is right on the doorstep. We will most definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
we are so pleased that you wish to return, many of our guests come back year after year and we are very grateful that they do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim007201...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious peaceful warm and clean”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a great family half term break at the Cart Lodge. Beautiful peaceful location.
We went into the nature reserve every day, it's very close and perfect for family walks. The Cart Lodge was warm and well equipped. We found the layout ideal for our family as there is a separate bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor, meaning the grandparents slept undisturbed and the rest of the family had plenty of space for themselves upstairs. There were toys in a cupboard, a big tv and the added bonus of a games room if the weather turned wet. The location is also good, Bury is close by as is the Country Park at West Stow.
Many thanks to Emma for an enjoyable break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Thank you, I'm glad that you enjoyed walks on the nature reserve, the games room and that the cottage layout suited your extended family group. Best wishes and hope you come again as soon as you can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaCV34...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

As always we had a wonderful time at Cart Lodge. It is so beautifully furnished and equipped with everything needed. It is so peaceful, warm and comfortable. Couldn't be better. Brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Thank you Linda, we really appreciate that you are a "return visitor" thank you for coming back to the Cartlodge at Lackford Lakes Barns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing