We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most uninteresting cathedral I have ever been to”

St. Edmundsbury Cathedral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I am quite at a loss to understand all the other enthusiastic reviews. The architecture is flat and banal - quite undistinguished , the newly built tower hopelessly unimaginative, the victorian stained glass is not even good of its limited kind. No sense of spirituality. There you go.

Thank MisterNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very proud of our architecture and our Millennium Tower which represents an example of traditional craftsmanship in the modern age.

In 2010, the Vaulted Ceiling project was awarded the RIBA Spirit of Ingenuity Heritage Award for Pure Conservation of an Historic Building and many of our visitors enjoy marvelling at the beautiful colours in the design.

Many of our visitors also welcome the peaceful spiritual haven the Cathedral offers from the outside world, but we appreciate that not everyone feels the same way.

We recommend visitors take a guided tour to learn more, or ask our welcomers any questions they may have about the building.

Best wishes,

St Eds Cathedral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"new tower"
in 27 reviews
"stained glass windows"
in 19 reviews
"tower tour"
in 16 reviews
"millennium tower"
in 11 reviews
"lego model"
in 15 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 60 reviews
"wonderful building"
in 18 reviews
"st edmundsbury"
in 20 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 8 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 9 reviews
"magna carta"
in 12 reviews
"abbey grounds"
in 8 reviews
"steeped in history"
in 8 reviews
"lovely place to visit"
in 12 reviews
"walk around"
in 8 reviews
"angel hill"
in 7 reviews
"town centre"
in 10 reviews
Filter

98 - 102 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

I have seen a lot of churches yet this one is so very special. Fantastic vault. Glass lead windows with beautiful depictions over all the cathedral. Very friendly, informative and helpful people maintaining this. Recommend to take a walk outside in the park as well. And do not forget the treasure room...

Thank Erikvd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and felt welcomed. We have a fantastic volunteer team who welcome our visitors.
We hope you may be able to return at some point in the future.
Best wishes,

St Eds Cathedral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

The Lego model of the cathedral is a great idea to raise money. It's mind blowing to think it takes £11500 to run the place each week! It's beyond me how the money is raised. Really impressed by all the work going on to clean the windows and stone work. Such an inviting ambience. Will be back for singing during the Christmas fayre.

Thank Cornflake50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

Our LEGO fundraising project has been a great initiative for raising money but also encouraging new visitors to us. Thanks to our visitors generosity and our volunteer builders we have placed over 30,000 pieces of LEGO.

The restoration project is due to finish end of January time and we anticipate after this there will be no major works for a number of years. We look forward to welcoming you during the Christmas Fayre.

Best wishes,

St Eds Cathedral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is a very peaceful place to sit and relax or pray. It is a small cathedral and I liked the simplicity of the church.

Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are one of the smaller Cathedrals only becoming one in 1914 with the creation of the Diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich. We are glad you felt at peace at the Cathedral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I went on a tour of the cathedral and tower,and at an admission of £10 a well worth visit.
I was well impressed with the guides, Paula and Jacky. It's a long way up to the top of the tower, over 200 steps. I do not know how the ladies manage to climb these steps, sometimes more than twice a day. The view at the top of the tower is awesome. The Cathedral itself is beautiful and tranquil.
As well as the Cathedral and tower visit, you also have the old Abbey ruins and gardens within the grounds to view.

Thank Michael J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of our Tower Tour, we are glad you found it good value and that you enjoyed the view from the top, I will pass on your positive feedback to our Guides.
There is plenty to explore nearby the Cathedral too in the Abbey Gardens, the ruins of the Abbey are amazing to see from the Tower!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Edmundsbury Cathedral also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to St. Edmundsbury Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing