We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Free to visit!

The cathedral is one of the most beautiful parts of Bury. It is free to enter, has a lovely little... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
travellerinyellow
,
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
via mobile
An Interesting Cathedral

This Cathedral has some interesting features which include a beautiful tower, a treasury and a... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
lewiskal
,
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Read all 734 reviews
  
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
518
189
21
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
189
21
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new tower stained glass windows tower tour millennium tower lego model well worth a visit wonderful building st edmundsbury awe inspiring warm welcome magna carta abbey grounds steeped in history lovely place to visit walk around angel hill town centre
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is a very peaceful place to sit and relax or pray. It is a small cathedral and I liked the simplicity of the church.

Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are one of the smaller Cathedrals only becoming one in 1914 with the creation of the Diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich. We are glad you felt at peace at the Cathedral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I went on a tour of the cathedral and tower,and at an admission of £10 a well worth visit.
I was well impressed with the guides, Paula and Jacky. It's a long way up to the top of the tower, over 200 steps. I do not know how the ladies manage to climb these steps, sometimes more than twice a day. The view at the top of the tower is awesome. The Cathedral itself is beautiful and tranquil.
As well as the Cathedral and tower visit, you also have the old Abbey ruins and gardens within the grounds to view.

Thank Michael J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of our Tower Tour, we are glad you found it good value and that you enjoyed the view from the top, I will pass on your positive feedback to our Guides.
There is plenty to explore nearby the Cathedral too in the Abbey Gardens, the ruins of the Abbey are amazing to see from the Tower!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We visited the cathedral after looking at the abbey gardens and ruins. A very impressive building - it may be no. 3 on my list after York and Ely! I didn't realise that the tower is modern, completed in 2005. Interesting to view the mirror showing the mosaic at the top of the tower and I was fascinated by the gradual construction of a Lego model of the cathedral.
I was left wondering why the town of Bury St Edmunds isn't named St Edmundsbury like the borough.

Thank paulm1002016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit!
Perhaps next time you visit you may like to join in one of our Tower Tours.

To answer regarding the naming of the town:

The liberty of Edmund (West Suffolk) was given to the Abbey in 1016 to run as a separate administrative area outside of the kings jurisdiction.
The name Bury St Edmunds was given by King Canute, and means the fortified town of Edmund. The abbey was known as the Abbey of St Edmund, the townspeople always referred to it as just Bury.

The borough of St Edmundsbury dates only from 1974, as the borough replaced the old borough of Bury St Edmunds and extended the boundary to include Haverhill, Clare, and other small towns and villages.. the name Bury St Edmunds didn’t include these towns and villages and so St Edmundsbury was chosen as it meant that borough status was kept.

In 1974 many areas lost their borough status and became district councils ( as in for forest heath, babergh, waveney, mid Suffolk etc ) but as Bury and Ipswich were county towns it was decided to retain their ancient status.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This cathedral is a wonderful peaceful magnificent place to visit with its fine architecture. It's the parish church of St James and also the seat of the Bishop of the Diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich. Entry is free but donations are welcome. There's also a shop and refectory.

Thank mj18797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for leaving a review, we are glad you enjoyed visiting the Cathedral! As a parish church Cathedral we hold many regular services, but also more civic events and services such as the upcoming Harvest Festival. We are reliant on our visitors generosity to offer a donation if they have enjoyed their visit or consider visiting our Shop or Pilgrims' Kitchen which helps us to maintain the wonderful building. We hope you may be able to return in the future. Best wishes, St Eds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

With its new tower this beautiful cathedral is a wonderful place to visit. Why not stop a little longer and enjoy tea and cake.

Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRsteds, Public Relations Manager at St. Edmundsbury Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review- we're so glad you enjoyed your visit to both the Cathedral and our Pilgrims' Kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews