We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to spend a couple of hours”

Greene King Brewery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Attached to the beautiful Greene King brewery, our beer cafe is open Monday to Friday 8am to 6pm and Saturday 10am to 6pm. Brunch and Lunch served Monday to Friday 8am - 2pm Saturday 10am - 3pm. We have Brewery Tours everyday and a shop for beers, clothing and gifts. Upstairs we have a great party venue for up to 45 people. Call us on 01284 714297 - Cheers!
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Loved it! I have been converted to Ales...
All hail the Ale.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BSesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    75
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“morning trip”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Maureen our guide was a warm and friendly lady who obviously loves her job.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindaj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great tour and excellent guide!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We visited the tour on Saturday afternoon, with a group of around 12, this was the maximum number allowed on the tour which was good, as a larger group would have slowed down the tour. The tour was really informative and interactive, and our guide Henry was funny and super knowledgeable! He was also really clear and answered any questions. We also got to learn about the history of Bury and there was a great view from the top of the brewery tower. The tasting at the end was fantastic, in a real pub, and you could drink as much as you liked. I'm not a massive ale fan but really enjoyed tasting all the different drinks. I had a few problems climbing the stairs and would not recommend this tour for anyone with mobility issues, but you are informed about the stairs when you are booking so at least the brewery make you aware of it! Would definitely visit again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank katherinel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a great time learning about the history and brewing process in the Greene King brewery. At the end of the tour you get to sample some of the various ales that GK brew on site.

One thing to be aware of is that there are a lot of steps involved so I wouldn't recommend for anyone who has mobility issues.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JGB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A trip worth taking”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just a stones throw from the Dog & Partridge. Went on the Brewery tour - really interesting & good value. Spent a very pleasant 45mins in the Brewery Tap afterwards, sampling the product!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travellingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greene King Brewery also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds
 
Ixworth, Bury St Edmunds
 

Been to Greene King Brewery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing