We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house,in a fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Aldeburgh Beach
Aldeburgh
Thorpeness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aldeburgh, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michaelJ9...
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house,in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

On the high street opposite the best fish and chip shop, with the white hart pub next to the fish and chip shop. Just a stones throw away from the beach. Thorpness is a lovely coastal walk away with great amenities and the chance to work up an appetite with a row round the meare before walking back to Aldeburgh for fish and chips by the sea. A wide variety of restaurants catering for all dietary needs, the lighthouse was very good with an excellent children’s menu and great service. The brudenell hotel provided the best Sunday roast with excellent service. The house was very well appointed with the bedrooms all providing plenty of space and storage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Dear Michael
Thanks for your review of The Old Gordon House in Aldeburgh. You are spot on about the house being perfectly located to enjoy the fish and chips and central to all the local amenities. Glad to hear you found the house suited all your needs and you had plenty of space for you all.
We look forward to you returning to Suffolk again in the future.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Easter week away”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely house right in the heart of Aldeburgh. Perfect position for visiting the local shops and fantastic eateries. The house was very comfortable, warm and clean. The Rayburn in the kitchen was easy to use so don't be put off by it being the only cooker. The beds were very comfortable with lovely crisp white bed linen. The house is old so don't expect it to be contemporary or double glazed but we loved it for it's charm and would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Dear Penneck Family
Thank you kindly for your review of The Old Gordon House in Aldeburgh. Pleased to hear you enjoyed this traditional house in the centre of town. The house is perfectly located to enjoy the local amenities and try out the local fish and chips. Glad to know you found the Rayburn not a problem as this can be off putting to some. Lovely you enjoyed a good nights sleep tucked in the crisp white linen. We hope you will return to Suffolk again if so please do get in touch with us as Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H
Hampton middlesex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good location though house needed some updating”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The house itself was well spaced out and the beds were comfortable. It is on the HIgh street which was convenient, though we did get woken up one night with people talking outside and barrels being replaced in the pub opposite a couple of mornings. It did need some updating though. One of the bedroom windows was broken and had been repaired with masking tape and both front bedroom windows were very mouldy from condensation, THe Rayburn cooker was the only method of cooking and would decide to turn itself off in the middle of cooking for no explicable reason. We gave up using it after ruining some lovely sirloin steaks. The fridge was tiny for six people and you couldn’t put anything in the doors as it fell out. The downstairs shower is bit basic and the shower room is freezing cold with inadequate heating and the drain smelt. The house itself was warm when the heating was on but very draughty but the gas stove in the sitting room made it very cosy. The Internet router connection was virtually non existent and none of us could watch anything on iPads or similar.
However, the house was charming and if the above could be rectified would be a great place for a holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
Dear Jeremy, Thanks for reviewing your stay at The Old Gordon House in Aldeburgh. Sorry to hear you had some concerns during your stay. Your comments have all been passed onto our maintenance and housekeeping teams to address. This is a truly charming house with character and is ideal being so close to the shops and restaurants.
We do hope you will make a return visit in the future.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandb34
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A comfortable house full of character”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A very comfortable and pleasant stay.
The cooking facilities could be improved though, as there is only a Rayburn - no gas/electric cooker or hob. This is a bit difficult when cooking a meal for 6 people.
The fridge is rather small too.
However, the rooms are lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Old Gordon House in Aldeburgh I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the house comfortable.We will speak with our housekeepers to review the cooking facilities thank you for bringing the issues to our attention. The house is perfectly situated in the main high street so close to all the amenities.
Should you wish to return to Suffolk please do get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family getaway”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally situated or all the many attractions that Aldeburgh has to offer. Good pubs & restaurants. Fish & chip shop directly opposite. Excellent Chinese. Minutes from beach museum etc. Shops a minutes walk away for everything you need

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Dear Sue, thank you for reviewing The Old Gordon House in Aldeburgh. The house is perfectly located to enjoy all that Aldeburgh has to offer and a great house for a family get together. If you ever think of returning to Suffolk in the future please do not hesitate to contact us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages again.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing