We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
US$ 188
US$ 180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 199
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa(Woodbridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Framlingham)
US$ 150
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,547)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveller rating
858
494
147
37
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
858
494
147
37
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontafternoon teafishold buildingbreakfast was excellentevening meallovely hotelwithout exceptionstayed for one nightcomfortable roomstaff were excellentkippersweekend breakfirst classshingle beachsecond visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,366 - 1,371 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Excellent clean and comfortable, staff friendly and very professional, bedroom was smaller than expected, but bed was huge! Bathroom spacious and spotless. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Firstly thank you so much for your feedback, it is very much valued by us as a team. It was a pleasure to meet you during your visit and I do hope you will come back and see us all again soon. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Me and my girlfriend enjuyed so much our stay at the White Lion Hotel . The hotel is very nice, a perfect balance between a traditional inn and a modern hotel. The hotel restaurant is very nice, modern looking and with a wide selection of fish dishes . The sight from the Hotel is perfect, directly on the beach . The staff is very very kind and always ready to help and suggest . Nature around is fantastic, if you love rivers and birds . A very romantic and pleasant easter... .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenio_greeneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words. It is appreciated by both myself and the team. Stay in touch and come back and see us soon. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was a 2nd visit to the White Lion for my partner and me. As it was a birthday visit we requested a sea view and for a few extra pounds had a much bigger room than previously with a great view. This hotel is a wonderful place for a quiet break. The staff are great, the decor is really tasteful and the breakfasts are really special. I love that unlike a lot of hotels that do the breakfast totally as a buffet, at the White Lion there is an interesting menu and everything is served to you. Makes the whole experience even more relaxing. Lastly, my partner was really touched that the staff took the trouble of puting a birthday card for him in our room! Look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

I am very pleased that we made your birthday celebration memorable. As soon as you arrive at the White Lion we endeavour to ensure our guests are relaxed, we do hope to see you again next year for your birthday if not before. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Arrived Friday evening after a long drive, the hotel receptionist was pleasant and we were checked into the hotel and directed to our room (17) on the first floor.

On arrival at the room we noticed that there was an incredible lack of space within the room, especially between the bed and the table, which at its narrowest point was less the 12inchs from either object and had to be navigated to get to and or from the WC.

The pillows were very hard and the matteress was uncomfortable, in outline we did not have a good nights rest.

We did not dine at the hotel in the evening, opting to sample some of the local fare.

Breakfast was average as we were served burnt toast in a rack and also with the main breakfast meal.

In summary, i would not be happy to stay here again and as such feel that the £134.00 fee for the nights stay was in excesses of the hotel and local B&B,s that we have stayed at recently would be better value for money.

Room Tip: Please do not accept room 17. Its to small and is like a box.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room was not to your liking. As you know the building has benefited from a recent refurbishment, finished in a contemporary and mordern style whilst maintaining many of its much loved features from the past. Next time you book your stay with us, please contact me directly and I will ensure you are allocated a larger room if available. In regards to the breakfast, I am surprised if you were served toast that appeared to be burnt in places, if you had let the duty manager or waiter know they would of replaced the rack of toast with no hesitation. Hope to see you again soon.Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was a return visit to The White Lion after 5 years and was chosen because Aldeburgh is a beautiful place ( bracing east winds so pack warm clothing) with far reaching sea views, interesting galleries and gifty shops as well as the usual co-op, deli and fresh veg shops, an ice cream parlour and excellent tea shops (Cragg Sisters a must). There are loads of fresh fish sheds along the beach and good fish and chip shops for supper. Aldebrugh is ideally located if you require an overnight stay whilst visiting The Maltings in Snape for an arty event. I was pleasantly suprised to find that The White Lion Hotel has had an update and is bright and light, recently recarpeted and decorated. The reception staff were friendly and the twin room, whilst compact (and no sea view), had good storage, clean bath and shower, a firm comfortable bed. There is also WiFi if you ask for the pass word at reception. There was a good choice for breakfast using local produce and I had the scramble and salmon. The only thing I could fault is the bread - there must be someone local making a decent artisan loaf! Parking might be a problem if you arrive when everyone is visiting but you can usually find a slot later in the day when the trippers have gone home. Lovely place, great hotel, cannot wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: If a sea view is important then make sure you ask for one.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. Both Aldeburgh and the White Lion are the place to be for some well deserved R & R. Come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews