We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for relaxing w/end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Hotel, overlooking the beach/sea is a very relaxing place to stay, we had a great room looking out to Sea,even in January the sun rising is a wonderful sight!. the rooms overall were very tastefully decorated & the bathroom also,we stayed over a w/end & had dinner both nights, also very good, but we were a little disappointed with the menu,which had so little to offer by way of Fish/seafood, what we did have was of a very high standard ( no daily specials! does this change in summer months?) a good choice for breakfast & service was also very good. the overall view was a good place to stay for a w/end away as a special treat.
Yes the car parking as mentioned by several reviewers is (1st come etc) a little annoying, but should not put you off staying here. the town itself is a delight to walk around, & the walks which take you along the coast etc are splendid, Only our trip to SouthWold was disappointing, the place seemed a little "tired". would we return, yes, maybe in summer months.

Room Tip: superior rooms overlooking sea/ beach are worth the cost of staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Brudenell we appreciate your feedback. As the new General Mangaer I greatly value any comments regarding your stay that I might be able to use to enhance the experience for our future guests. Both the new head chef and I are really looking forward to improving the menus and restaurant experience so please do keep an eye out for a few changes. i was really pleased to see that overall you had a good experience. please do feel free to contact me should you return and I will happily assist with your parking, the hotel has some dedicated parking areas that may help. Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 916 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked a two night break - Good Friday and Easter Saturday nights. We were in room 113 which overlooked the gardens of the neighbouring council houses and in the distance you could see the marsh/river area. Parking was a nightmare. There are a few spaces at the side of the hotel - these were all full, so the other options are the few garage spaces opposite the hotel (beware if you have a large vehicle - they are tiny) or along the road outside the front of the hotel. We managed to get a space in the garage but found we were almost blocked in the following morning. The room was brightly decorated, spacious and comfortable. There was a roll top bath as well as a good sized shower in the bathroom and upgraded toiletries were provided as well as bathrobes and slippers. The water pressure in the shower wasn't brilliant. There was lots of door banging into the early hours, which started again early in the morning. The lounge area in the hotel is quite small but comfy (if you can find a seat). We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as the menu was too limited for my other half! It was good value though as if you are staying B&B, you can choose 3 courses for £20. Service was very good in the bar/lounge area. There are lots of restaurants, bistros etc to choose from in Aldeburgh, but you do need to book - even in Prezzo. The fish and chips from the shop in the village were really good, even if the queues were always a mile long! We found breakfast a little chaotic with guests having to wait for tables to be cleared and re-set. The food at breakfast was ok but the size of the plates it is served on are far too large. There are lots of lovely shops and a couple of really good deli's in the High Street. We also visited Jimmy's Farm and Southwold.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NileMaiden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went for one night on spur of the moment on Easter Sunday night. It was terrible weather but we had a lovely comfortable double room with sea view to watch the rain from!

We did not eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on that. Breakfast ok but would not agree with a previous reviewer that it was magnificent.

A nice touch was the chocolate easter bunny and card left for us in our room from the staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great Hotel, great staff, great service, great views.
Needs better variety on veggie menu!

Room Tip: 308 has great window seat! 317 has best of both worlds - sea and marsh 101 - by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nodric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

had been here before and stayed in the deluxe sea view room for one night at a huge discount other wise it wouldnt of happened, this place isnt cheap, the room was excellent and service faultless.
thought we would go again, didnt get the deluxe, to late, never mind its a good hotel so not a problem. stayed in room 109 l think, lovely though a lot smaller but fine, then at night it bang bang bang till very late then earlyish in the morning it started again, we were above the kitchen, we complained, couldnt be moved as hotel was full . same happened next night, went to have breakfast l asked for slow cooked ham 2 hash browns 2 eggs and toast, got the toast and a slice of ham, told the waitress, think she understood, came back with 1 egg and the slice of ham, right ok, l didnt bother saying anything, payed for the room and left.
not brilliant. Was told we would have better room next time

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 969RCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,513 reviews
31.9 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
833 reviews
3.7 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
40.0 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: ₹ 12,428 - ₹ 19,912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing