We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a UK mini-break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We took the 'Luxury Package' with the Brudenell Hotel as a birthday celebration.
We had room 307 which was quite large and spacious with a wonderful view out over the beach and North Sea.
The bed was very comfy, as was the sofa to watch TV, plus there was a small table & 2 tub chairs placed in front of the window for gazing out.
Top marks for providing a hairdryer that could be used in front of a mirror! (a personal rant of mine - you'd be amazed at the number of 'quality' hotels that place hairdryers or sockets that are nowhere near the mirror. what's a girl to do?)
In contrast to the bedroom, the bathroom was quite compact but nevertheless fresh & clean so served its purpose!
We arrived to find a bottle of Prosecco chilling next to a fruit basket and a small box of choccies. A birthday card from the staff was also a nice touch :-)
The Afternoon Tea was generous, with the scones & clotted cream being the star of the show. Some of the carpeting & upholstery in the Lounge area looked a little grubby, but then after dropping bits of my sandwiches & cake everywhere I could see why!
The restaurant environment felt more hard & functional rather than welcoming & intimate, but the staff were cheerful, and the food was tasty with a seasonal menu.
Aldeburgh is a lovely & interesting small town to visit, and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the Brudenell again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acithomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

964 - 968 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here for a few days and whilst the hotel is well located it is nevertheless the staff that make the place. Generally, all OK other than the over titled "restaurant manager" who is in serious need of some training or the sack. I would suggest the latter.

Why do I say this? Well I ordered a couple of poached eggs on toast which arrived so undercooked they were almost raw. When I informed the "manager" he seemed totally disinterested. The guy needs a new job and whilst he is there I will not be staying. On the bright side however, his understudy is a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perkins4108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Location wise the hotel is in a fantastic spot, right on the beach with amazing views in all directions, however I do have a few resevations about our stay here. On a positive note we were welcomed by friendly reception staff, and our room was ready on arrival and so we were allowed to check in a lot earlier than normal. The room was lovely and spacious, well appointed with everything that you could need including fresh mineral water each day. We stayed in an Aldeburgh facing room and the view over the roof tops, and out towards the marshes was lovely. We travelled with our dog and a water bowl and large dog biscuit were provided and were much appreciated by our pooch. Breakfast at The Brudenell was delicious, and there were a lot of choices from full English (with the best bacon and sausages), to kippers, cereals, fruit and a range of pastries. Despite the lovely rooms and good service at breakfast what most disappointed us about our stay were the service and food in the restaurant in the evening. The restaurant at night seemed to lack atmosphere and I almost felt that we could have been in any generic chain hotel restaurant, not the small, boutique style hotel that the Brudenell purports to be. Our waiter for the evening treated us in an arrogant manner from the off, which left us feeling slightly narked before we had even started! The restaurant has an a la carte menu, daily specials and also a set menu. Choosing to order from the reasonably priced set menu, it was only upon ordering that out waiter informed us that one of the three main courses were sold out. This wouldn't have been a problem if it hadn't been for the fact that the dish itself (chicken) was on the al la carte menu at twice the price, and strangely the more expensive chicken was still available. The waiter didn't make any apologies about this or see if the chef could swap chicken from the al la carte menu to the dish on the set menu. We subsequently ended up ordering off the al la carte menu at twice the price of the set menu and despite the food being pleasant enough, I felt it overpriced for the quality and service we received. A few other small niggles about the hotel include the fact that the shower lacks any pressure at all and just trickles water. And despite allowing dogs to stay in the bedrooms, it's a real shame that the hotel doesn't allow dogs into the lounge. We would have loved to have taken advantage of staying the hotel each evening and enjoying the fab view with a drink and the company of our dog instead of having to venture out to other pubs in the area. Overall considering the 4 stars the hotel has and the room rate our stay was pleasant enough but I think a couple of changes here and there could make this a super hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ79_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A favourite place with just wonderful seascape and great decor and food- even Aldeburgh rooms are fine but sea view ones are stunning! Don't want to leave again!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynPRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for posting your response. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Brudenell. I will pass on your comments to the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Brudenell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed for two nights in August in a room on the second floor with a sea view. The room was beautifully furnished, the bed comfortable and the bathroom had everything you could want. The only problem is that there is little or no insulation between floors. In the room above was a family with two very young children who ran, jumped and shouted non-stop. It vibrated our room and made it impossible to take an afternoon nap, which my husband needed to do as he is convalescing from serious illness. We asked reception to move to a quieter room, but they could only offer a smaller, less comfortable room. They said that any room could be made into a 'family' room and therefore there was no way of knowing whether this would be a problem in advance. They were very apologetic and made a deduction on our bill, which we thought was the appropriate action. The other noise issue is the fire doors, including those to the rooms. Every time one closed, it did so with a crash which again vibrated the room. I understand these doors can be adjusted, so hope they will do something. We would go again, but not in school holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no family above, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Brudenell. I am very happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I would like to apologise that the insulation between the floors was not adequate and that the noise was a problem. We appreciate it that you raised this on departure and we were able to compensate you in some way. We have checked the doors on all the floors and I believe this is rectified.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Brudenell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,513 reviews
31.9 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
833 reviews
3.7 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
40.0 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: ₹ 12,493 - ₹ 20,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing