We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bifg family celebration”
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

There were 15 of us at The Wentworth for my mother's 85th birthday celebrations last weekend. And that included a 4 year old, a 20 month old and a 9 week old baby. The hotel was a total joy, so spacious and comfortable. The staff were obliging and the private dining area we were given was perfect - not everyone would have liked our rather loud company at every mealtime! The food too, was really delicious, so all in all I'd recommend this hotel thoroughly to anyone wanting a venue for a similar family party. We were well looked after, and have had a memorable time in Aldeburgh.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view superior rooms, really nice and worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bundersaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to add a complimetary review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm glad the family was comfortable. I thank you for recommending the hotel to others and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you, and your family, back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Wentworth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 581 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have eaten regularly at the Wentworth although we have never stayed there. The food is lovely and there is a very reasonably priced menu available at lunchtimes (2 course £11, 3 courses £15). It is a lovely hotel facing the seafront in Aldeburgh - a beautiful location. Staff are all very friendly and the hotel is very cosy with plenty of very comfortable sofas to while away your time and chat with friends. Although we have never stayed at the Wentworth - they do some very good deals if you sign up for their emails.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAPPYLASS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for posting a review. Our lunchtime 'menu of the day' offer is proving very popular and in addition to this we have a full a la carte lunch menu available. Please do continue to visit us to take advantage of our lunchtime offer and to sample some of the cuisine which people are enjoying at the current time

I hope you may get to stay at the hotel in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We revisited the Wentwoth Hotel for a family celebration on Mothering Sunday. We had taken the precaution of making a reservation several days beforehand. As may be expected the Hotel was very busy. The Restaurant and Bar and Lounge were full at the peak time. It is clear that the catering staff had much to occupy their time. Nonetheless, from the friendly welcome to the quiet efficiency of the unobtrusive waiting staff this hotel maintains its elegance and comfortable ambience to the utmost extent. Above all the quality of the cooking is undiminished and may, perhaps, be classifired as 'modified fine dining'. All the dishes selected by our party were described by each individual as excellent and very tasty.
We were very satisfied indeed. From what we could see from the reactions of those lunching around us, so also were all the other patrons. We can confidently recommend anyone to sample the atmosphere and catering on offer here, in the assurance that you will not be disappointed. Well done, Wentworth, and full marks for maintaining such a high level of service and satisfaction.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bennett003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to hear that you once again enjoyed your time at the hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you back and it gives us confidence to know that you feel our standards are being maintained.

The chef has been notified of the review and this is gratefully received by the brigade

I hope you may visit us again for similar celebrations or just for a lunch or dinner.

Many thanks and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the wentworth hotel, for just one night but wished we could have stayed longer,we stayed in a inside room which was small, but had everything we needed, also very clean and well looked after.We also enjoyed the food very much, which was very well presented,and we were
always well looked after,prices were also value for money. Mr Mrs Watson lincolnshire

Room Tip: SEa facing
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully for a longer break, in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have for the past 15 years or so stayed at the Wentworth in early February and have always found the hotel to be excellent. The comfort is outstanding - log fires - deep sofas to drop into after a day's walking in the often freezing North Coast conditions. The food is stunning - always an excellent choice with fresh local fish and meat being the highlight of the evening menu. What always impresses us is that they are always 'doing something' to the hotel which demonstrates a commitment so lacking in many hotels today. We shall continue to visit Aldeburgh and the Wentworth for as long as we can and would not hesitate to recommend it to those that enjoy real comfort, excellent food and service to match.

Room Tip: Try Darfield House if you are not bothered about a sea view. The rooms are currently being redecora...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godmanchesterharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for visiting the hotel once again and for your continued loyalty for the past 15 years. I am gald you have had a comfortable stay. We hope to offer a home from home feel all year round and the log fires and ambience of the hotel are just as nice, I hope, in winter as well as the summer season.
We continually refurbish the hotel to ensure the building and service is of a high standard. Your appreciation of the local produce is gratefully received
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.9 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,036 reviews
0.1 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,504 reviews
32.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
819 reviews
20.6 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
338 reviews
18.2 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: ₹ 12,962 - ₹ 21,922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing