We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant atmosphere and natural host friendliness”
Review of Dunan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunan House
Ranked #6 of 17 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Baden-Baden, Germany
2 reviews
“Very pleasant atmosphere and natural host friendliness”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Beautiful house in a superb location, less than 10 minutes' walking distance from the city centre. The hosts' genuine good taste adds to the charming character of the house. Perfect for a couple with little children (attic room).

Hosts very friendly in a sincere, relaxed way. Very child-friendly. Nothing to add to the rave breakfast reviews :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcosVerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    11
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

It was our third trip to Dunan House in december of last year and as usual Annie and Simon welcomed us into their lovely home and helped us to feel relaxed with their gentle, quiet ways. We have now stayed in each of their visitor's rooms and they are all beautifully and thoughtfully furnished and designed.

In spite of the bitter and freezing weather, Aldeburgh is always a wonderful place to visit. The town is charming and the beach and sea are ever changing and exhilerating - whatever the weather - and such a great place to walk. To top it all, Annie and Simon make a fab breakfast - and veggie - if that's how you like it. We just can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanneCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We had a great weekend. The house is beautiful, filled with art, and friendly hosts.

We stayed in the attic room, which was nicely decorated, large, and very comfortable. Our room had a sitting area as well. Room and bathroom were very clean.

We found the town of Aldeburgh beautiful with a very arty feel to it - many many galleries and artists, beware the towns art mafia. Some good places to eat in the town and close by.

We would recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjornrevfeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed in the attic room which had an extra small bedroom and a large bathroom. It was plenty of space and had great views. The breakfast was delicious especially the eggs laid by the hens in the garden and the coffee was perfect. It was only a 5 min walk to the main street in the town which has plenty of quality restaurants.

The house is an interesting space filled with the art from the owners, on the downside we didn't find the owners particularly friendly but not unfriendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ademander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

My partner and I love Aldeburgh and it never fails to please whatever the weather and time of year. My family were coming over from Singapore and we decided to try out a B&B and from the website, decided that the Dunan House looked wonderful and their reviews on their website also sounded promising.

Simon Farr and Ann Lee are wonderful hosts, one an outstanding illustrator and the other a potter. The house is large and well decorated with a lot of artwork which provide a homey feel. The gardens are large and well maintained.

The rooms are very large with lovely en suite bathrooms and as the house (other than the breakfast room) is not open to the residents, the bedrooms are large enough for families to gather round without feeling cramped or restricted. The attic family room is especially generous in size. Each bedroom is equipped with a telly and a dvd player and the bathrooms are large, warm and very well finished.

The beds are very comfortable and I only found out at the end that Simon and Ann insist on providing a good sleep which they certainly succeeded. They have a collection of chickens from which they collect eggs for the morning breakfast and although there was a cockerel, he didn't seem to want to wake everybody up too early and I only heard him once at 08h10, by which time I was already half awake and his crow seemed somewhat modest!

Breakfasts are generous and well cooked with fresh ingredients, good bread and in a pleasant dining room.

The location of Dunan House is another strong point as it is halfway between the High Street and the magnificent marshes which provide good walks and many a painterly landscape. Bring suitable footwear for the wetter months.

  • Liked — The hosts and the very comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Old windows some of which couldn't close and so leaked heating.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Londonblokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
654 reviews
0.7 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,002 reviews
12.5 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.0 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
691 reviews
7.9 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunan House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunan House

Property: Dunan House
Address: 41 Park Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunan House is in the quiet part of the beautiful seaside town of Aldeburgh; looking out over the marshes to the river and beyond. The house is slightly grand, set back from the road in the centre of a large garden with many mature trees. You hardly feel you are in the town and yet the high street, shops, pubs, restaurants, cinema and the beach are all within a 10 minute walk. Inside, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is interesting art and craft throughout the house. Breakfast is pretty good too and includes fresh eggs from the Dunan House hens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunan House Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing