We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical butterflies”
Review of Butterfly World

Butterfly World
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous few hours in Butterfly World. It felt magical as we entered the house and all around us were free flying butterflies. It was great to see all the different colours and species.
As well as the butterflies there were little finches and quails roaming free too.
The family ticket was extremely
reasonable.
Very educational place to take
children to learn all about the life circle of butterflies.
Oh and I can't forget the Meerkats and snakes in the next room.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank C6619LLrobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 17 reviews
"quail"
in 12 reviews
"preston park"
in 45 reviews
"meerkat enclosure"
in 7 reviews
"butterflies flying"
in 6 reviews
"meer cats"
in 6 reviews
"koi carp"
in 11 reviews
"different species"
in 10 reviews
"small attraction"
in 4 reviews
"large fish"
in 4 reviews
"exotic plants"
in 4 reviews
"taking photos"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"lovely place"
in 13 reviews
"gift shop"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 6 reviews
"per adult"
in 6 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Went on a Sunday with a 3 year old and a 9 year old and to be honest ,both them and I expected to see more.The entry price was fair for £4 however the place is too small you cannot move around , and needs a bit of tidying up.The beautiful coy carps,fauna and butterflies are so nice .Just need a bit more room and some activities.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 269maxinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This attraction is located within Preston Park in Stockton on Tees. The park itself is beautiful but going inside Butterfly World is an added bonus. It is about 26-28 degrees in temperature within the premises so expect a warm welcome. We were greeted with various butterflies in different color shape and sizes. Along with the insects we also feasted our eyes with tropical plants and beautiful orchids in full bloom. There is a pond teeming with fat fishes. Anotehr section with lizards, snakes, meerkat and ants. We appreciated the facts and figures written in colorful posters / boards , it added information and knowledge, helping us understand what these fascinating creatures are all about. We recomend walking calmly and gently while observing so as not to disturb the delicate balance of their living space.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank vvross1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Lovely to see so many butterflies and plants. The kids enjoyed it and so did i. The pond with the carp in is also lovely. Definitely worth paying the small charge if you are at preston park anyway. It is very hot inside the enclosure so be aware of that. Theres also meerkats and other reptiles to visit in there. A very good and educational experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely little place with tones of butterflies. The scenery inside is also very nice along with the koi carp pond. It won't take long to walk round the whole place but the ticket gives you access all day and there is plenty to do at Preston park and as it gets warm inside we pooped out for a few hours and went back later. Our daughter loved it.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Wglen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly World also viewed

Eaglescliffe, Stockton-on-Tees
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Been to Butterfly World? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing