We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All seemed so hopeful, but needless issues ruin the place”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“All seemed so hopeful, but needless issues ruin the place”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The hotel is attractively decorated, the staff are very friendly and helpful,and the bar pricing is good value - so why does the rest of it make this a place to avoid?
We stayed in Room 114. The room is on a slope, fair enough as it is an old building, but why does the bed have to slope when a little ingenuity and your feet wouldn't be above your head?
The next problem with the room is it is above what I guess must be the kitchen; at 11:15 last night doors were being slammed, staff were shouting at each other and things were being thrown out the back door (well, I couldn't see this, but it is what it sounded like as we tried to get to sleep) - oh, and there are two "fans" that whir up for a few moments before shutting down again - they were still going at 11:15.
Finally, from a room perspective, the walls are paper thin. So when the couple next door returned at 3am, held a conversation and then had very noisy physical activity I was left wondering why the hotel doesn't replace their bed - the springs creak very loudly and the headboard crashes against the adjoining wall. Still, they kept it down to 15 minutes.
The final issue is breakfast. Yesterday the sausage, black pudding and bacon came out cold so when they collected the remains we pointed out the problem. Today the sausage, bacon and mushrooms came out cold - no point in complaining then as nothing changes.
I can't imagine ever staying in this hotel, ever again. Such a shame as the staff are genuinely lovely and it all looks so nice.

Room Tip: Avoid 114 like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    173
    63
    24
    11
See reviews for
91
227
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed at The Swan for a few days while conducting some business in Stafford. Sited in a historic building, the hotel building is charming and quaint, and lovingly updated to modern comfort levels.

I particularly enjoyed spending an idle Saturday afternoon sitting in one of the bay windows in the cafe downstairs, reading and watching Stafford move by on the pedestrianised main street.

The cafe and restaurant are obviously a local favorite -- extremely busy on Saturday morning!

It can be quite a challenge finding the entrance to the car parking area. A bit of local guidance was required for it to be found. Not the fault of the hotel at all, just a recommendation to fellow travelers to map out your route completely before you go.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christ0fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Fantastic small hotel. Excellent value for money, friendly and excellent service. Great attention to detail. Puts some of the big hotels to shame

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeamishG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Had a night here and so pleased we stayed.
We had booked lunch with friends (which was excellent) and had taken an overnight bag and decided to stay over when we knew they were having a beer and food tasting evening (FOC!).
The executive room was so big, and the hotel is very tastefully decorated.
The beer and food tasting was excellent and was free. We actually didn't need to eat a meal after the sampling, the food we had was very good and plenty of it.
Breakfast was possibly the best we have had in a hotel, my husband chose the full english and I had the smoked haddock omelette.
Staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel location is great, on the main street. It would have been difficult to find the car park, get email info before you go. You have to pay and display if you only have lunch it is £6 to park, but when we stayed overnight we had a free permit.
Would recommend this hotel as in townThere is also a sister hotel the Moathouse nearby, only had a lunch there previously but very good.

Room Tip: We had an executive room on the top floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed for only one night on business, but great service, the guy who serves breakfast is so happy to help, nothing is a problem, will certainly be returning for pleasure, if you stay here, try the Bare grill over the road fab good value food

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thanks for your review of The Swan Hotel, its great to get such positive feedback and I'll pass on your praise to Peter who looked after you at breakfast. I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our sister property

we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
5.7 km away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
805 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.3 km away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
1.0 km away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
5.9 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,720 - ₹ 11,501
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing