We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vine Hotel(Stafford)
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moat House(Acton Trussell)
US$ 154
US$ 145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel(Stafford)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Weston Hall(Stafford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
336
227
77
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
227
77
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee shophigh streetchurch bellscar parkmiddle of townlovely hotelfour postersunday morningthird floorsteak nightvisiting staffordweekend breakcentral locationsingle roomsat navfull englishbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed at The Swan for a few days while conducting some business in Stafford. Sited in a historic building, the hotel building is charming and quaint, and lovingly updated to modern comfort levels.

I particularly enjoyed spending an idle Saturday afternoon sitting in one of the bay windows in the cafe downstairs, reading and watching Stafford move by on the pedestrianised main street.

The cafe and restaurant are obviously a local favorite -- extremely busy on Saturday morning!

It can be quite a challenge finding the entrance to the car parking area. A bit of local guidance was required for it to be found. Not the fault of the hotel at all, just a recommendation to fellow travelers to map out your route completely before you go.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christ0fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Fantastic small hotel. Excellent value for money, friendly and excellent service. Great attention to detail. Puts some of the big hotels to shame

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeamishG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Had a night here and so pleased we stayed.
We had booked lunch with friends (which was excellent) and had taken an overnight bag and decided to stay over when we knew they were having a beer and food tasting evening (FOC!).
The executive room was so big, and the hotel is very tastefully decorated.
The beer and food tasting was excellent and was free. We actually didn't need to eat a meal after the sampling, the food we had was very good and plenty of it.
Breakfast was possibly the best we have had in a hotel, my husband chose the full english and I had the smoked haddock omelette.
Staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel location is great, on the main street. It would have been difficult to find the car park, get email info before you go. You have to pay and display if you only have lunch it is £6 to park, but when we stayed overnight we had a free permit.
Would recommend this hotel as in townThere is also a sister hotel the Moathouse nearby, only had a lunch there previously but very good.

Room Tip: We had an executive room on the top floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed for only one night on business, but great service, the guy who serves breakfast is so happy to help, nothing is a problem, will certainly be returning for pleasure, if you stay here, try the Bare grill over the road fab good value food

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brettbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thanks for your review of The Swan Hotel, its great to get such positive feedback and I'll pass on your praise to Peter who looked after you at breakfast. I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our sister property

we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Chris Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The meal we had in the brasserie was excellent and so was the service throughout (Saturday, 17th September) came back on the Sunday to a more restricted menu - but nevertheless same quality. No rooms available for last weekend for an overnight stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews