We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Groupon voucher

Excellent venue, exceptional staff and food. Very comfortable and welcoming. Nothing was too much... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Anne K
,
Tamworth, United Kingdom
A LITTLE GEM

Walking through the courtyard with it's lovely flowers, mainly of 18th century, I came upon this... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Chris T
,
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Read all 281 reviews
  
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
156
104
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
104
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herb garden his inventions lunar society lovely house well worth a visit amazing man hands on activities josiah wedgwood interactive exhibits renaissance man medical doctor little gem small museum industrial revolution free entry informative video his life
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent venue, exceptional staff and food. Very comfortable and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble.

Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lot of reviewers have said that there is nothing to see here, I guess they were expecting thrills and spills, then go home and watch Eastenders and The X factor, (low brow stuff type of people. Now I wasn't too keen on going here, but as we were in Lichfield and had time to kill in we went.

There's a pretty interesting film about the man and some decent enough displays, most of which do need some upkeep, but still quite serviceable, there are costumes to try on for the kids and the staff were very friendly.

You're not going to spend hours here, about 30-45mins tops, but worth a visit.

1  Thank apophisguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walking through the courtyard with it's lovely flowers, mainly of 18th century, I came upon this little gem of a house. Free entry which was a bonus. I found out so much about this famous doctor, scientist and inventor and the way he interacted with other local celebs of the time - Josiah Wedgewood, Matthew Boutlon and James Watt. Brilliant

1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another place worth a visit in Lichfield. There are one or two toys that were played during the era, and some interesting scientific objects.

1  Thank JWP300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fascinating to get an insight into the life of Erasmus Darwin, Grandfather to Charles Darwin. We were greeted by an enthusiast member of staff who introduced us to the house and it’s contents and sent us on our self guided tour. Lots of hands on exhibits where you can try out and look at some of his inventions for yourself. We really enjoyed looking at the medicinal garden which was also a very pleasant place to sit. The Exhibition showed Erasmus Darwin’s place in history as a scientist and inventor even if he chose not to take credit for his inventions. He preferred instead to be the best doctor he could be and most of his inventions came about in order to help his patients and his family and friends. The house itself stands in the shadow of the cathedral, entry is free and it is well worth a visit.

Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erasmus D, Manager at Erasmus Darwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Plenty of books and historical information. There are reviews and scenes dating back to Darwins time.

Thank Baggers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Historical and really good cellar tour knowledgeable guides and well illustrated exhibition
Shows Erasmus Darwin’s importance to lunar society and industrial revolution

Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We spent a lot longer in the Erasmus Darwin House than we had originally planned because it was so fascinating. It is in a beautiful setting, easy to get to from the centre of Lichfield, and accessible for everyone (I have mobility problems so I was pleased to see the lift). The member of staff we met when we arrived provided an interesting introduction with just enough to whet our appetites for more. There are lots of hands-on exhibits where you can try out Darwin's inventions for yourself. We loved it and Mrs Darwin's two gardens (medicinal and botanical) are beautiful to wander around (or just sit in). Well worth a visit.

Thank Pedantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We were visiting Lichfield Cathedral (which is right behind this house) and parked up crossed the road and there was Erasmus Darwins House. Never heard of him... but thought Darwin worth checking out.
First off its FREE although they do ask for a contribution if you can, so it's up to you whether you pay anything or not. This is actually a great place to visit. its very informal but full of interesting information. It's Erasmus's house, he was the grandfather of naturalist Charles Darwin, but it turns out he was the grandfather of evolution, he put forward the ideas that Charles later developed.
Anyway it turns out the guy was a bit of a genius, inventor, poet and physician, a great man of his times.
It's a really interesting place with several room set out for the period, with lots of interesting information and items he designed.
Definitely worth a visit (and a contribution to help them keep it open).
I think Lichfield doesn't make enough of it's history, there's lots to see it's a lovely place to visit.

Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We visited this small museum on Saturday. It is free and good to wander in the garden if the weather is fine. Unfortunately it was raining so we stayed inside. There are rooms with information boards and some good hands on activities for children. There is a film to watch but because there is a special science activity for children on Saturdays you can't hear the film. You can't close the door! When my husband mentioned this, the person doing the activity was dismissive. We left after that.

Thank valerier471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews