We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown at Wells
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wookey Hole Hotel(Wookey Hole)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millbatch Farm(Glastonbury)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
236
264
104
58
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
264
104
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanton's bistrothot fuzzmarket squarethe pubpenn baroverlooking the market placeham egg and chipsfour postercar parksunday lunchold buildinglovely mealsaturday marketbishop's palacebreakfast was excellentstayed here for one nightwell worth a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed a delicious fish soup at The Crown last week but was taken ill overnight. When I visited the restaurant the following day to politely alert them to a problem with the soup, suggesting that they discard any left over to avoid problems for to other customers, the only responses from the girl on duty and manager were stony faces and the parroted question as to whether I had visited the doctor. They did not express any apology or suggest any refund. I will never visit this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Do C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry you were unwell but you are making a very serious, libellous allegation based on an assumption your illness was due to something you may have eaten at our restaurant.
It is not unreasonable to ask whether you had been to the doctor to establish the cause of your illness. In cases of genuine food poisoning a doctor will provide a report based on tests taken which pinpoints the type of food that may be responsible for any illness.
Food poisoning is not normally so short lived - you describe being taken ill overnight then into The Crown the following day.
Our soup of the day is always vegetarian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very busy but the staff coped well. Very clean and attentive staff. Pity there are no 'Tab' facilities but we still ate and enjoyed our meal. The Chicken Friccasse Meal needed to have more chicken in it and a larger portion in general but it was good and tasty

Room Tip: Didn't stay, only ate
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BristolPete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad to hear overall you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is right in the centre in the market place. Unfortunately we arrived on market day so had to find alternative parking until the market traders had packed up and home home! If you plan a trip be aware it's market day on Wednesdays and Fridays. The hotel car park is very small and you end up having to leave your car in the hands of the staff to shuffle cars around in order for everyone to fit in. If you are one of the first to get in you may have have problems leaving as your car will be blocked in!
The hotel has a bar/pub which is lively and popular. We had lunch which was a sandwich. The fillings were tasty but what let it down was the bread which was very dry!
We ate in Antons in the evening which is the hotel restaurant. The food was very good, not so sure about the background music. The waiter was obviously a Barry Manilow fan!!! Breakfast - good selection of continental or cooked options.
The bedroom was comfortable and clean. Working the hot water for the shower was fiddly but we eventually got the hang of it! It was a bit noisy in the morning but I guess this was to be expected being in the centre of the town. If you struggle with stairs then you may find it difficult to get to the rooms. We were on top floor which meant climbing 3 floors.
We did have to wait a while to check in as reception wasn't manned and there isn't a bell to alert staff you are there which means you end up loitering until someone comes along.
Well located for exploring the cathedral and the town.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sheilablige2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Apologies, Barry isn't to everyone's taste (we're happy to change the music).
Sorry for the problems you encountered but thank you for your patience and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Reception staff obviously did not want to be there and were very unhelpful.

We had a room for which we had paid an upgrade. the shower was not working properly, the water was not hot (sign saying 'low pressure'. What about putting in a booster pump?) and a curtain was hanging off it's railings. When we suggested that the cost of the upgrade might be refunded, we were met with stony silence. The food at Antons was OK, but the waitress service was not an experience to be repeated.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N6041GHdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

It was a very cold and snowy day when we met friends in Wells. Just went in to this pub as it was close to the cathedral and we were hungry. Good menu and it was prompt service. We all had the Crown burger.....nicely cooked and well presented. Was better than I expected to be honest. Food arriving at neighbouring tables looked nice too so I would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Super, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews