We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
165
164
59
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
164
59
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu travelzoo deal taster meal neals yard comfortable bed dog friendly hotel parking is limited superior room good points new owners every member of staff hotel is lovely wells cathedral a stones throw car park parking space central location
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The White Hart. We thought that the accommodation, service and the quality of food in the restaurant were all excellent. Staff were always pleasant and most helpful. We particularly enjoyed the very special five course taster menu. The restaurant and the hotel as a whole provided a very comfortable and relaxing environment. We hope to stay again ourselves in the future, and we would certainly recommend the hotel to others. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rogerdempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We loved it here. The staff are this hotel's greatest asset, they were all so lovely, friendly and cheerful. The food was fantastic and the location is spot on. I would recommend it to anyone. We had a superior room which was a little smaller than expected but perfect for a short stay. The bed was really comfortable and as we were at the back of the hotel it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shankley2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Friendly welcoming staff

Comfortable bed

Limited menu in brasserie - could have extended bar menu availability. Limited vegetarian offering.

But meal chosen - lamb - superb, good portions, well presented and delicious.

Good breakfast.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fishyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We chose the White Hart Hotel for a short break in Wells. The Hotel is perfectly placed for the cathedral, market and for walking around this historic town. Parking at the hotel is limited and very tight. If you have a large or tall vehicle, you might find it difficult and there is a charge of £5 per day for parking (March 2018), which was rather surprising. Our room was cold on arrival, the heating had been turned off and the bathroom heating did not appear to work which made the bathroom very cold throughout our stay. The bedside tables were also very dusty. Otherwise, the room was ok. We had prebooked the pescatarian tasting menu option for dinner and this was confirmed by email and again by the receptionist at check-in. Unfortunately, there was a lack of communication here with the kitchen and waiting staff who wanted to serve us with ham hock, which was rejected. Once this was resolved, the food was very nice. Overall, the White Hart is a good choice for a short stay, but you may need a little patience with inattentive waiting staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel on a Travelzoo deal. I had paid £99 for 2 people including dinner and breakfast. There was an extra £20 surcharge for a Saturday night stay and a £5 optional car parking fee.

The car park had very minimal space and luckily we did find one of the larger spots. I’m sure there’s lots of wing mirror damage in there. Thank goodness for parking sensors!!!

Had a warm welcome from reception and we were shown to our room. I’d upgraded the room to a super king bed and the bed was lovely. Very clean all round and lovely Neal’s Yard products in the bathroom.

The hotel had a small lounge which we didn’t use & a bar (which was part of the restaurant). We had the 5 course taster menu as part of our deal. There was no choice on the taster menu but it was all really well cooked and beautifully executed. You could tell the chef had been trained in fine restaurants. The amuse bouche was divine, then a ham hock terrine, followed by a hake course, the main course was chicken and then a chocolate dessert. I haven’t gone into detail as I do not want to spoil the finer elements of the dishes for anyone who will be dining there in the near future. But we loved it all.

Wells itself is quite sleepy but a lovely place to visit. A few pubs to choose from and if you’ve ever watched the film “Hot Fuzz” you will recognise many places featured in the film.

A trip to the Cathedral and Bishops Gardens are a good thing to do. Also there are many independent shops and cafes to explore and sample.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jo210968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews