We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First time in Glastonbury”
other travellers have booked this property
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790 A single parking space by the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790
A single parking space by the front door.
Welcome!
Welcome! Nourish your soul with candles, wood burner, films, books, music, games for the children...
The TV & dvd player is located under the stairs opposite sofa. Sofabed sleeps 2
The arm chair is newly uphostered (formerly red). Photo Jan 2018.
The stairs lead to the two bedrooms and family bathroom
A single parking space outside the door. Church lectern with maps and leaflets
You will never want to leave!
Cottage kitchen seats 5. View through conservatory to garden. Treats in fruit bowl. Photo Jan 2018
Dishwasher, ceramic hob, fan oven, blender, microwave, coffee maker, percolator and much more.
Chalk board at child's height. Fermented grapes bottle in fruit bowl for adults.
Kitchen patio through conservatory which houses laundry faciilities. Double doors onto patio
Electric shower over bath, hand shower below, views over gardens and Abbey grounds. Photo Jan '18
View from bathroom and small bedroom. January 2018
Edible herbs, log shed on left, first arch leads onto lawn with swing seat, grape vine, roses, shubs
Second arch behind lawn leads to raised patio overlooking Abbey grounds
The swing seat under the grapevine
Nectar of the Gods!
Take it slow, have a lovely rest here!
Raised terrace with extensive views over Abbey grounds. Table now on kitchen patio, see next photo
New furniture for 2016. This was a warm day in January when Abbey ruins are visible
Normally a peaceful and serene space, Glastonbury Abbey comes alive at numerous special events.
Conservatory has washing machine, storage space, backs to kitchen and patio
New double thickness mattresses Jan 2018, salt lamps in each room, toys and children's books.
Stairs monitored by Audrey
Memory foam mattress topper has received much praise.
There are two wardrobes, one with shelves, one with hangers. Tor view
The main bedroom is larger than it looks on the photo!
View of Tor from the Master bedroom, Rural Life Museum across the road.
One cosy winter's day
Magical Christmas at Moonstone.
Glastonbury Tor at sunset
4 minutes walk to the Chalice Well and Tor footpath
Welcome!
The old oaks, Gog and Magog are 2000 years old.
The Dorset coast is just over an hour's drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
streetgli...
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time in Glastonbury”
Reviewed 3 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Katrina,
As this was our first time stay in glastonbury we where not sure what to expect.
The ambience of Moonstone Cottage was fabulous and the atmosphere generated was sheer bliss for us.
Although we had a car we didnt really need one as all the sites we visited where within easy walking distance.
We where totaly relaxed after our arrival and soon got into enjoying the cottage and all that Glastonbury has to offer.
We feel that staying at Moonstone is better value than comparable B & B because of the flexibility of meals and generally doing your own thing - dinning out or enjoying a meal in as we wished.
We will certainly return again and would recomend staying at Moonstone Cottage to anyone visiting Glastonbury
Thanks Katarina for your attention to detail and a fantastic holiday experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magical feel of the place
Liked least: Not Appicable
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2011
It was very nice to meet you both. Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! You wrote me afterwards and said you felt you had a life changing week in Glastonbury. This is what Glastonbury is all about, and we also hope the cottage will play its part in making the experience complete!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanneva...
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Go there! It realy is a home away from home!”
Reviewed 14 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We loved it here. The house was very welcomming and clean. The owner had attended to all the small details that make you feel welcome and willing to stay in and enjoy the house and garden in itself. I haven't slept so well in months...
Also it is very near all the great sites and shops while still feeling very quiet and private...
I will try to come next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2011
Thanks very much! You did a course in Glastonbury and a few of you enjoyed dining at the cottage during some of the evenings. I was glad it worked out so well and you enjoyed your stay. It's fab when people feel cosy and happy at the cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2011
Thanks ever so much. I was also grateful for your advice and help regarding the end section of the garden. It was great to meet you, and we really look forward to seeing you again in September. Bright blessings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2011
Thanks very much for your lovely review! You were full of positive energy and feedback, and I was very glad you had such a great time. Hope to see you both again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruby B
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing