We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven of peace with a lot of entertainment is...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorge View Cottage

The cottage with the gorge view in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage with the gorge view in the background
A view to the gorge View from the top of the gorge, Cheddar village and reservoir beyond  (photo: Chris Andrews)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The cottage with the gorge view in the background
A view to the gorge
View from the top of the gorge, Cheddar village and reservoir beyond  (photo: Chris Andrews)
The cottage
The living room with exposed original stone
Dining table
View to the hall and stairs
Living room, view to the gorge, and our lovely wood burning stove
The kitchen  - units hand-crafted from reclaimed wood with a granite work surface
Bedroom: king size bed, memory foam mattress and organic cotton linen
Bedroom again - airy and light with views to the gorge from bed
View of the cottage from the lane
Patio catching the late afternoon sun
A perfect late afternoon drink on the patio
The patio from the drive
Green Tourism Gold level award
Green Tourism GoldStar award in national awards (highly commended)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Q3994EOca...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of peace with a lot of entertainment is within reach.”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our compliments for the comfortable cottage, the garden and the hospitality of our hosts. The cottage is fully equipped, everywhere is taken care of. We really appreciated WIFI. There is a great view when we looked outside. We liked the fresh strawberries from the garden. The stove was fantastic. Thanks for using the bikes. The surrounding areas are amazing for walks, cycle tours, touristics and also relaxing in the garden. There are great places to visit within a hour drive such as Bath, Stourhead House, Glastonbury Abbey and Tor, Wells and a lot more. Mendip Spring Golf Course is fine for a relaxing day of Golf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable cottage, which met the expectations., and the perfect location.
Liked least: The toilet upstairs.
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minxy71
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage beautiful area”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Everything about our stay was perfect . the only downfall was having to leave . hope to go back for a second visit . the walks were lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from every window.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipperdo...
Attleborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just a darling little cottage”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was exactly as described. It had everything needed for our stay. It was warm and cosy and the view up to the Gorge was stunning. The garden of the main house is huge and you can wander round at will. It was a steep climb up from the village but we managed and we are in our 70's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The underfloor heating
Liked least: The steep climb up the road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation and view of Gorge”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Friday to friday booking is ideal for us seniors now.The cottage has everything needed for a single or couple,including Wifi to keep in contact with people.Took the bikes,good cycling on the levels.Good walking in the mendips- did both Cheddar and Ebbor gorges amonst the walking.The weather was great, meaning we could get out and about everyday of the week.
Went to Wells twice ,once on the bike and again on the bus.
Will go again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Exceptional cottage”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I stayed at Gorge View cottage for 2 nights, it was a surprise birthday getaway present for me. We couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough. It's cosy, beautifully built and decorated, extremely environmentally friendly and very comfortable. The owners Huw and Mary were very helpful and welcoming, and really went out their way to make this trip very special and memorable.It was such a pleasure and joy to return to the cottage after a day of exploring, and enjoy it's calming and warming ambience. The cottage is ideally placed to explore the surrounding Mendip hills and of course Cheddar Gorge itself. There are some beautiful walks around here and stunning views from the cottage itself. Nearby Wells is definitely worth a visit. This is a lovely retreat for a break away, thank you Huw and Mary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner!
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing