We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Byre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre
Sitting Room The Byre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Byre
Sitting Room
The Byre
Kitchen
The Byre
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Local Produce!
Hall
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Javier-Tr...
Palencia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The owners: We travelled with our baby and they provide us everything we needed. They are charming.
The property: Cozy, practical, clean, tidy, with a lot of tourist information, dvd, books, fully equipped kitchen, superb bathtub...
The best: an awesome orchard to walk around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great cottage, in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The cottage was wonderful, in a nice quiet location. It was immaculately clean and well equiped with everything you could possibly need for a short break or a longer holiday. Charlotte and Nigel were lovely, very welcoming and helpful. We arrived to find a really nice welcome pack with milk, teabags, real coffee, biscuits and even a homemade cake, Would definately recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony W
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Diamond in the Somerset Countryside”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I would thoroughly recommend The Byre to anyone thinking of a self catering holiday in Somerset. The hospitality was first class and the accommodation is a credit to the owners. It was absolutely spotless and provided an ideal base from which to explore Somerset. The welcome pack, which included a lovely madeira cake was a very thoughtful and kind touch. A++++++++

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had everything one could wish for
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoTheCont...
London England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I booked The Byre for a few days - having read the previous reviews we felt confident we had found a nice place to stay. And we weren't disappointed!

The owners were very easy to deal with. When they said they would send their terms and conditions I was expected 23 pages of legal small print and was very pleasantly surprised to get two pages of terms that were entirely reasonable (and some of the two pages were just to confirm who we were and when we were staying).

When we arrived we found the parking to be a little tight although during our stay it proved to be easier to get our car in and out than we expected. We were greeted, given the keys and shown around. Even at that early stage it was clear what a pleasant place The Byre is and what a good job the owners have done of turning it into holiday accommodation.

The owners really have thought of just about everything a visitor could possibly need. There was a cafetiere and a bag of coffee, a box of teabags, a packet of cookies, games and books and DVDs for dreary weather, towels and linens are provided, and they even gave us a cake baked by the owner herself!

The property is located near the main road but not near enough for noise to be an issue. It's only a couple of miles from Cheddar and not much further from Wells, there's plenty of great walking available without taking the car at all and for good measure the owners provide a list of suggested walks ranging from a flat 2-3 mile walk to 10 miles over hills. We did one of their walks to nearby Priddy, modified it slightly to take in the Ebbor Gorge, and ended up covering a very hilly yet very enjoyable 12 miles.

A lot of the time self-contained accommodation can be pretty miserable when the weather is bad except even here The Byre scores highly. On the Sunday of our stay the wind varied from strong to very strong and the rain varied from moderate to heavy, so we stayed in for the entire day, just watching the wind and the rain and playing the assorted games and puzzles. Even in bad weather the views from the living area were very pleasing to us and despite not really doing much of anything we didn't feel we had lost a day of our trip.

With the possible exception of parking (which could be a problem for those who have trouble manoeuvring and who drive particularly large cars) it really is hard to fault The Byre. We were both sad when it was time to give the keys back and definitely plan to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High specification of property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing