We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Avalon Heritage Tours
from US$ 347.84
More Info
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
5
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Very knowledgeable and fun! Was definitely worth it to have a guide like Andy! He was very flexible about what we wanted to see and do. I highly recommend him!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 568dalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Avalon Heritage Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you ladies, it was a pleasure meet you both. Best wishes. Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

I researched at great length to find "the right guide" to introduce us to Bath, Stonehenge and the area in general. From the opening email discussions it was clear that Andy was a sound communicator with rapid email turnarounds that soon locked in the tour.

On the day of the tour Andy collected us from Bristol in his very clean Range Rover and he'd included water in case we needed it during the day. Immediately we found Andy to be a fellow of great humour and it was very easy to strike up a good chat with him. This worked well for us because we like to let our guides know that they have the freedom to show us what they perceive we'd like to see and we weren't disappointed.

The tour of Bath started with a quick orientation tour in Andy's car, a look a buildings and items of note that we would not get to during the walk, and then we parked and started the tour on foot. Andy was born in Bath and although he's travelled the world he has returned home to start this venture after a career with companies such as Airbus. Therefore his knowledge expanded to many worldly topics when we stopped to chat quickly about random items.

It was clear that Andy could talk at length about the 4000 year history of Bath, and he made stops at locations and neatly slotted them in their place in that very long history. He also took us into areas such as the Assembly Rooms and small museums and chapels that you would not normally see, as well as the inner city and the new city that expanded outside the original walled city area.

Because we were from Australia he took a side tour to St Nicholas Church in Bathampton to see the grave of Admiral Arthur Phillip, the founder of the first colony in Australia and our first Governor. We concluded at Bath with a lovely lunch and we were pleased to see that Andy was happy to sit and chat with us during lunch because many guides leave you at this time; so this made the tour all that more personal.

We experienced the same level of detailed knowledge at Stonehenge and then to his credit, and in his own time, instead of just dropping us off at out hotel in Bristol, Andy took us for a driving tour around Bristol so we could also appreciate the city in which we were staying.

It was the highlight of our 3 week tour of the UK for my wife, and you will be very hard to find another guide with his knowledge and great personality.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank IanLindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Avalon Heritage Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Ian & Maria,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our time together. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I believe it was team work that made the day such a success. I trust your stay in Cornwall is being blessed by good weather and you are getting to see some of the places we talked about. I would be nice to think our paths might cross again one day. I wish you both good health and happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

What a great tour -- and Andy was awesome. First the tour: Andy gave us a wonderful overview of Bath -- and a desire to return to see even more. We saw everything from the city centre tourist sites (i.e. Bath Abbey and the Roman Baths - both incredible and awe inspiring) to the surrounding hill sides overlooking the city. Andy deftly combined both walking tour locations and a driving tour as well allowing us to see in depth the various "crescents" and accompanying beautiful architecture of Bath. He even got us in for a last minute viewing of the Assembly Rooms -- a location we would not likely have gone to but for Andy's guidance. Next our guide - Andy Clark: What a great day we had. Andy picked us up a out hotel (about 1 1/2 hours from Bath) in a roomy, comfortable and clean Range Rover. Off we headed to Bath with Andy providing great insights, history and stories to the areas we passed through. He was extremely well prepared for the day's touring and did a wonderful job at providing history and context for what we going to be seeing. At the various locations we visited with Andy, never did we feel rushed or pushed to move along. In truth, we went to Bath to see the obligatory Roman Baths (which were even better than expected), but we left with a new found love of the city and a desire to return. Great job Andy! We will look for other opportunities to book another tour with him in the future.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Cyndi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Avalon Heritage Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you very much Cyndi. It was a pleasure to meet you and Kerry and I do hope our paths will cross again someday. Best wishes and good health, Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

As part of a relaxing week in Cheltenham myself and my sister joined a guided walking tour led by Andy. We had a lovely morning and learned a lot that we would never have found out by ourselves. Andy was great fun and obviously very knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank PottyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Avalon Heritage Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you - it was great to meet you both. Best wishes, Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews