We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage in a very pleasant location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Farmhouse Wing is an entirely self-contained part of 17th Century Lower Church Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmhouse Wing is an entirely self-contained part of 17th Century Lower Church Farmhouse
Lower Church Farmhouse is a former farmhouse in the village of Marksbury, near Bath The large, well-stocked garden is a real feature of the Farmhouse Wing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Farmhouse Wing is an entirely self-contained part of 17th Century Lower Church Farmhouse
Lower Church Farmhouse is a former farmhouse in the village of Marksbury, near Bath
The large, well-stocked garden is a real feature of the Farmhouse Wing
The garden is perfect for relaxing and eating outside in the summer
The sitting room has beams and a stone mullion window, overlooking the front garden
Relax in front of the wonderful inglenook fireplace
The Farmhouse Wing has plenty of space for dining inside or outside
The kitchen has a great electric range-style cooker
The kitchen is triple aspect, with french doors opening onto the attractive garden
The well-appointed kitchen makes self-catering a pleasure
The master bedroom has mahogany antique furniture and a luxurious en-suite bathroom
Comfortable mattresses and high-quality bedlinen ensure a good night's sleep
The rolltop bath, en-suite to the master bedroom, is perfect for a relaxing soak
The en-suite bathroom
The second bedroom has an antique-style bed and has its own en-suite shower room
The second bedroom looks out over the front garden
The second bedroom has a smart and modern en-suite shower room
Lower Church Farmhouse has a crest on its porch, dating back to the 17th Century
There is a large lawn and colourful herbaceous borders in the Farmhouse Wing's garden
There is ample parking on the large driveway
Colourful hollyhocks greet guests arriving at The Farmhouse Wing in the summer
The fields near the farmhouse have views towards Bristol, and in the far distance, Wales
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
trev0r432...
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in a very pleasant location”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for a long weekend in Bath to attend a wedding at Priston Mill and so as this is only 2.5 miles away it was a only a short drive away (but beware of boot sale congestion on Sundays).
Very well equipped throughout so it felt like home straight away and especially with the hospitality of Caroline the owner, her husband and the dogs.
Never seen such a well stocked and tended garden which was there for us to enjoy along with the other guests and the tortoise.
Bedrooms cosy and comfortable and good nights were had by all. We would definitely make a return to stay here again if we go back to the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
We're very pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Farmhouse Wing, which is conveniently situated for weddings at Priston Mill. We're also glad you liked the garden and enjoyed meeting the dogs and the tortoise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb holiday house”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful characterful property with lovely patio and garden.Very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Loved all the photos, paintings, ornaments and books which made it feel like a home from home. Large kitchen well equipped. Near enough to Bath to drive to restaurants in the evening. Plenty of local pubs within a short drive for meals too. The owner, Caroline was very welcoming and was on hand to answer any questions. Lots of leaflets for ideas of places to visit. Several National Trust properties and quaint old villages in the area. Managed to leave some clothes behind and Caroline very kindly posted them on to us! We would definitely recommend this lovely holiday house and would stay there again if returning to that area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful furnishings and the character of property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
It's great to know that you liked the way The Farmhouse Wing is furnished and equipped and were able to enjoy the garden. We're also pleased you found it so convenient for visiting Bath and the surrounding area, and found some good places to eat out nearby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would go again”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house wasn't in the countryside as we had imagined but a tiny village just off the main road. Despite this it was lovely and quiet and very close to Bath and the park and ride.
The wing was tastefully decorated with everything we could need and extremely comfortable. Caroline was a lovely host and made us very welcome. If we visit the Bath area in the future, I'm sure we would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly host and comfy beds.
Liked least: Slight damp smell in the entrance area on arrival (old property)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
It's great that you enjoyed your visit here so much and found the location so comfortable, quiet and convenient for visiting Bath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Ric...
1 review
“Beautiful place!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself, my girlfriend and another couple we know were looking for places to stay in or around Bath for our friends wedding, and came across the Farmhouse Wing. When looking at the photos we thought this would be a perfect place to stay, and we weren't disappointed. What a beautiful place!! Upon our arrival we were greeted to a warm welcome from Caroline who then showed us around! Everything was amazing, the kitchen was spacious and had plenty of pots, pans etc to use. Nice living room with a huge tele, very comforting to relax in.
The bedrooms were lovely, both with ensuite. One with a shower and the other with a lovely old fashioned bath.
We couldn't have been more delighted with what we picked. If you're tall just remember to duck a few times haha.
We will definitely be returning to the Farmhouse Wing when we're next down to visit our friends from Bath. And we'll b getting the cluedo out again which provided a lot of fun during the night :).

Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Also can't forget the amazing dogs, for the size of them they're big softies :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We're really pleased you had such a good time and enjoyed all The Farmhouse Wing has to offer. Hopefully we'll see you again - there's a lot to see and do in and around Bath, whatever the time of year, and we're sure you'd find plenty to interest you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mezzo55
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Above and beyond my expectations”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I have spent many a night in different accommodation up and down the country with my job, however on this occasion I was blown away with the experience.

Each of the en suite bedrooms in the Farmhouse Wing had their own unique style which made it hard for me to decide which room to stay in. The style, decor and standard of linen was first class and so tastefully put together, I felt I wanted to take the people who decorated this farmhouse back to my own home for some hints and tips!

The lounge was very charming, spacious with an ample sized television and the kitchen was superb, so if you were planning to stay the week and cook a few meals then this would be like home from home.

What has really made me want to re-book for a holiday with my family is the charming couple that run this establishment. They made me feel so very much at home and nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful decor and cozy atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you for your kind review - we're so glad we were able to accommodate you for your business trip and look forward to seeing you back with your family in the future, when you can fully explore the delights of Bath and the surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing