We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Guest House”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb Guest House”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed three nights in Bath and were forunate enough to stop at Chestnuts. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and the Toni could not have been more helpful, he gave us a local map and marked on places of interest that weren't already noted and even drew directions to assist us getting into the City centre which is a mere 5 minutes walk. Our room, one of the ground floor rooms, was fantastic, beautifully decorated, clean with air conditioning, a ceiling fan, central heating, TV, bedside radio etc and the bed was great with a mattress that was the most comfortable mattress we have ever slept on, thanks Toni now I need to get one for home. The en-suite was handsomely equipped containing a fantastic walk in shower.

Breakfasts were fantastic, I enjoyed the eggs benedict on the first day, the scrambled eggs and salmon on the second and the full English on our last day. All were proceeded with a variation of either croissant, a crunchy oat granola type cereal and fromage frais, yoghurt and orange juice. To finish there was toast and delicious marmalade or jam and the whole thing was accompanied with tea or coffee, fantastic food cooked and served to perfection.

There was a lovely guest lounge with Sky TV and there's free wi-fi.

As mentioned Toni was extremely helpful throughout and this extended to him drawing directions on to a pamphlet map giving me useful tips for our journey home on the A46, through the Cotswolds, after I mentioned that we weren't going to use the ever so boring motorways, or at least as little as possible.

Very highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    51
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
127
590
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maids Moreton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed for three nights this week and had a lovely break. The whole house is beautiful, the food is lovely, Tony was very welcoming and we didn,t need to use the car as the house is near the town centre but still quiet. Will definitely recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for one night in January. Excellent location - 10 minute walk into the centre of Bath. Our room was on the ground floor next to the dining room. Comfy bed, lovely and warm on a cold January day, nice size bathroom. The breakfast was very nice - we both chose eggs benedict which was delicious. There were other cooked options along with cereals, pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruit, so plenty of choice. Toni was a lovely host and if we visit Bath again would definately stay here. In fact we have already recommended Chestnuts House to one of our friends who has booked to stay later this year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A lovely place, so close to the centre of town, and the breakfasts are the best in the Kingdom!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My partner and I have just had a lovely weekend in the beautiful city of Bath, staying at Chestnuts House. This really is a lovely comfortable guest house. The room we stayed in was on the ground floor and was tastefully decorated and had everything that we needed. It was a really comfortable room and although we were situated adjacent to the dining room and reception, it was really quiet and we weren't disturbed at all. There's parking provided at the front of the house and once you'reparked you really don't need the car as everything is a walk away. The breakfast was lovely and between us we tried the full english, salmon and scrambled eggs and the omlette with asparagus. It's really nice to have the choice as although the full english was fab, it's nice to have a change when you stay a few days. So we would recommend Chestnuts House and we would definately stay again when we return to bath. Oh and don't worry about the building work that's going on nearby at the moment, we didn't even notice it. Tim and Christopher Freeman-Dean

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 km away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 157 in Bath
532 reviews
1.6 km away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 157 in Bath
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,082 - ₹ 11,581
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing