We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Thermae Bath Spa

Thermae Bath Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Spas & Wellness in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Thermae Bath Spa is Britain's only natural thermal Spa and benefits from the warm, mineral-rich waters which the Celts and Romans enjoyed over 2,000 years ago. Located in the heart of the World Heritage city of Bath, Thermae is a remarkable combination of five historic buildings and the contemporary architecture of the New Royal Bath. Highlights include the open-air rooftop pool with wonderful views over the city of Bath, the flowing curves of the Minerva Bath, the multi-sensory Wellness Suite and a choice of over 50 spa treatments and packages.
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing visit that included a Roman trilogy treatment for myself. A really special relaxing day with fantastic facilities. We visited on a Saturday and it was incredibly busy, too busy to feel truly relaxed but with the treatment it was wonderful. I think I would prefer to visit mid week, presumably less busy.

We had booked in advance and I’m glad I had as there was a 60min queue when I arrived.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Bigtangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rooftop pool"
in 2,545 reviews
"twilight package"
in 566 reviews
"flip flops"
in 340 reviews
"minerva pool"
in 329 reviews
"hour session"
in 244 reviews
"lazy river"
in 219 reviews
"pools and steam rooms"
in 134 reviews
"ice room"
in 131 reviews
"robes and slippers"
in 126 reviews
"open air pool"
in 123 reviews
"relaxation room"
in 111 reviews
"lower pool"
in 83 reviews
"changing facilities"
in 113 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 203 reviews
"full body massage"
in 76 reviews
"couples massage"
in 76 reviews
"two hours"
in 457 reviews
Filter

151 - 155 of 7,630 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Good place, the rooftop pool has a lovely view but is smaller than the pictures suggest. The spa is very overcrowded but well serviced.

Steam, sauna and associated rooms are decent - overall a good experience

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank CRV711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

This place costs £40 for two hours with no concessions. You can barely swim and use the other spa facilities and relax in that time. In any German spa (and there are hundreds of these Therme spa towns), you could use such hot spring and swim facilities all day for such an extortionate sum. Whilst the Thermae calls itself the only one in the UK, it is not really that special.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank foxurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent visit to Thermae Bath Spa.

We respect your views on the price of entry and we try our best to make Thermae Bath Spa as accessible as possible. Most of our customer feedback suggests that many of our guests believe Thermae to be good value for money, so we do apologise that you feel this way.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope that you will consider visiting again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

This place is truly unique and worth every penny. you get 2 hours plus a half hour changing time to spend inside this beautiful building. There is so much to do though, it isn't easy to fit it all in...so I shall definitely return.
The jewel in the crown is the roof top open air spa with the rooftop views of Bath. Lovely warm mineral water which is quite deep (no under 16's allowed) so you float with the help of noodles. There is an area where jets come on at intervals which is fun to experience. I went on a cold autumn morning, but the sun shone so strongly that I regretted not having sunglasses and a sunhat with me.
On the next level down you find a very comprehensive spa area. I loved the heated chairs with the stars sparkling on the ceiling and the huge screen showing nasa images. The saunas and steam rooms are huge as is the refreshing ice room. The lowest level has a huge spa pool with a lazy river which is really relaxing.

No photography is allowed and you have to leave electronic devices in the locker provided.
A perfect present, or a super indulgence, it is both a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank lynnecPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Booked this as a birthday treat and had the spa package. Easy to book and was fantastic all day! We went on a Thursday so wasn’t too bad. Lunch was fantastic as was the service, the Roman Trilogy (massage) was out of this world. The therapist was professional and listened to everything you said. It was one of the best massages I have had. (Sorry I can’t remember her name!) It was all just lush.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank DevonTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thermae Bath Spa also viewed

 

Been to Thermae Bath Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing