We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent. A delightful place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fourteen Raby Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fourteen Raby Place
Ranked #158 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent. A delightful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very fine period building. Spacious room. Wonderful view across the city. Excellent breakfasts. Charming, helpful hostess.

If I had to find any fault with this place, then it was a little too warm in my room. So I opened the window, and then it was perfect.

Room Tip: High up on the front of the house will give you a panoramic view of the city, day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed here in November 2010 and just recently again in February 2011. Very convenient, with just a 10 minute walk to the downtown area. Stayed in a back room our first trip and front room in February. The view from the front room is fantastic especially at night when the lights of the city are on. It is much quieter in the back as there is a bus stop in the front right across the street and it can get noisy when the pubs close. Hostess Muriel Guy is tops. Very informative of events happening in Bath and makes a great breakfast of all organic food products. Sydney Park is nearby as well as a Tesco supermarket. Art work is quite interesting. Would definately stay againl.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kmassung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed at Mrs. Guy's lovely B&B for two nights in room 1 on the top floor. We had a wonderful view of the city of Bath. The only downside was that we were also facing the main road, which is surprisingly busy for the area - this did not mar our stay! Our little Cocker Spaniel enjoyed her stay (the wonderful canal is just two minutes walk from the B&B) and Mrs Guy made us all very welcome. We must add that she prepares a wonderful breakfast every morning and it was a delightful experience to sit with all the other guests around the same large table... Great experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I've just returned from my second visit to 14 Raby Place, both for two nights. This time we also had our two dogs with us. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath and I've stayed in several great B&B's there. The location is terrific, many other B&B's are much further out: you can easily walk into the centre in about 5 mins and it is nearly all a flat walk - this isn't often the case in Bath.

As another review beautifully puts it, Mrs Guy runs a tight ship, and long may it continue. This lovely Georgian house is a gallery of original artwork and ceramics. On both visits we had an ensuite bathroom, but this time we were on the third floor. This is rather a lot of steps, so I learnt to think about what I was taking up and down each time!

Breakfast in taken in a pretty dining room around one large dining table. The fresh fruit salad was delicious and the cooked breakfast yummy. Yes, Mrs Guy does sometimes join the conversation and has her opinions, but a little debate adds to my enjoyment.

The rail line is close by but it is in a cutting running under the road. We've had a back and front room and we didn't notice it. For any dog owners, the canal is just beyond the railway line up the hill and great place for walkies. Non dog owners might also enjoy a stroll along the towpath too.

I'd love this B&B anyway, but at £70/night it's also great value, particularly for the location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yours2share
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Mine was a 2 night stop over in mid October 2009. A pleasant 10 minute walk to Bath City Center makes No 14 an ideal location for visits to Bath. The house is very nicely furnished and is kept clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good and the Landlady I found to be a delightful lady, though mind, she runs a tight ship and good for her.
There are good number of stairs to climb if your room is on the top floor and the railway line, which runs close by, adds interest. Overall, very good value... highly recommended.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Phil102009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
11.5 km away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
11.2 km away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 km away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
3.4 km away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourteen Raby Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourteen Raby Place

Property: Fourteen Raby Place
Address: 14 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
14 Raby Place
Fourteen Raby Place Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing