We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value especially if booked early or with AAA rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value especially if booked early or with AAA rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

One of the better value Holiday Inn Express that we have stayed in. Good complimentary breakfast, free wifi in lobby, helpful staff, good location (just across the road from the Little Lime House Restaurant - see my review) and 10 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor we appreciate our guests feeding back this information after their departure.

It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be of good value. We try or utmost to provide the best possible products and services to our guests to ensure they have a pleasant visit.

Thank you again for your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    598
    293
    70
    21
See reviews for
349
530
37
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in May. It was a pleasant experience and at a very reasonable price. The premises and room were very clean and well maintained. It is not a luxury hotel, but was more than adequate to serve as a base for exploring the area. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the center of town, but a pleasant one that we enjoyed. The hotel staff gave us a map and excellent directions. After you've done it once, you can't get lost. We arrived in Bath at the Train Station and should have taken a cab or asked directions. Instead we walked using a map which proved confusing. It's not far, 15 minutes, but you need a resident to explain the route. The breakfast was fine, not wonderful, but better than many I've had at similar hotels. Overall, this hotel met all of our needs and expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EZReach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following on from your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. I am pleased that you had a pleasant visit and our hotel suited your needs as a base.

It is also pleasing to hear that our staff were of help to you when trying to find out information on Bath. They are all very knowledgeable and will go out their way to assist a guest, whether it be making dinner reservations or printing out directions to a next destination.

Thank you again I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in a family room here for just 1 night but would happily have stayed longer. Beautifully clean and well kept, very helpful staff, everything you could want really. The breakfast was really nice, plenty of it and lots of choice. . . how some reviews can say it's "just adequate" is totally beyond me!
The bed was very comfortable, we appreciated the choice of soft/firm pillows too. The kids (well teenagers) had a good night's sleep on the sofa bed too. The en suite shower room was very smart, spotlessly clean and stocked with shower/hair/hand gel, and plenty of towels were provided for everyone.
It took us around 15 minutes to reach the city centre from this hotel, we weren't rushing. The most direct route is through the Homebase/Sainsbury's car parks.
Bath as a city has to be among Britain's best and certainly most beautiful with all the architecture and of course with the Roman Baths from the 1st century the place is steeped in history. Thoroughly recommend the Hop-on Hop-off City Bus Tour, takes around 45 minutes to see everything (interesting stuff through the earphones too), and at £27 for a family of 4 this is pretty good value as you can then use the bus to get yourself around the city for a full 24-hour period.
Fantastic new shopping centre (SouthGate), all built in keeping with the city so it's not an eyesore, could have spent hours here.
All in all excellent value - we booked and paid in advance which gave us a further discount. Would definitely use this hotel as a base for exploring Bath again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chillseekers044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such an encouraging review; we appreciate you taking the time to give us such positive feedback.

We try our utmost to provide an excellent stay for all our guests. I will be passing on your comments to our housekeeping team who will be thrilled to read your review. I am also pleased you enjoyed our complimentary express start breakfast and it met your needs and expectations.

On reading your review it does definitely look like you enjoyed Bath and its attractions, I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future, maybe to spend a few more hours in the Southgate shopping area.

Thank you again.

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great base for exploring the town, comfortable, breakfast really good.
Biggest bonus for me was I left bits in my room and they kindly posted them to me free of charge, they didn't have to do that and it was greatly appreciated. Thank you. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for such an encouraging review about our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made use of our hotel as a great base for exploring our city.

I am also glad to hear that our reception staff were of assistance in returning left belongings. They will always go above and beyond the call of duty, even after a guest has departed.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Aside from being a very attractive town, Bath is a great base of operations for exploring the western half of the UK - and we found that this hotel (just about a mile from the train station) suited our needs very well. Crossing a couple of streets, and strolling across the Sainsbury's parking lot, puts you very close to the town center - and even Sainbury's itself is a handy thing to have nearby if you are traveling light and need to stock up on some things after a long time on the road. This hotel features all the brand standards you would expect, but - beyond that - it has the most beautiful breakfast room of any Express we've ever visited: mature trees, floor to ceiling windows, and just a very pleasant ambience. We will definitely stay here again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nate1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review for the Holiday Inn Express Bath. It is pleasing to hear that you found our historical city a great base for the South west of England and also that our hotel suited your needs during your travels.

We are situated in a very convenient place for sightseeing as you have mentioned, we always suggest to guests travelling that they leave their car parked in our secure on-site car park and walk through our beautiful city.

I would also like to thank you for such kind comments with regards to our décor, we are lucky enough to have such a unique design in our breakfast area.

Thank you again, we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
1.2 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
0.9 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
1.6 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
2.2 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,244 - ₹ 16,233
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly Front Desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing