We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value and good breakfast”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is a modest hotel, but they provide excellent service. the rooms are very small but very clean and nice. The breakfast is very good, but can be crowded at times. Location is good, but mind the traffic when crossing the streets. Local drive crazy and always FAST. I don't think pedestrians have the "right of way" here. LOL. the hotel is walking distance from town, which is full of little shops and pubs. I would stay here again, anytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on the Holiday Inn Express Bath. All feedback is essential to ensure a consistent excellent service is provided to our guests.

I am pleased to see our complimentary express start breakfast met your needs and expectations during your stay with us. As you have mentioned there are certain times when breakfast can become busier, but we will keep serving until all guests have had breakfast.

We do advise guests to always use pedestrian crossings either side of the hotel, as you have experienced some drivers may go a little faster than necessary.

Thank you again for your kind review, I will have great pleasure in showing our team your review in a upcoming meeting.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    642
    304
    70
    23
See reviews for
368
578
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express offer a good basic service with a decent size room. Unfortunately it is decorated as if it were the 1980s with blue and brown wood veneer. But there is a very comfortable bed and a giant flat screen television to remind you it is the twenty-first century. There is also a large car park which is great when you want to avoid using your car due to fuel shortage hysteria.

The rooms can be a bit noisy with children running up and down the corridors. Breakfast finishes at an insanely early 9.30 but you will be up well before that anyway with the children as your alarm clock.

For those wanting coffee, you will find the breakfast disappointing and it is at least a five minute walk to an establishment that has a coffee machine. The breakfast coffee dispenser provides a beverage that tastes like something from the bottom of the River Avon.

Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the cemetery as unlike children, the dead don't make much noise...

All told not a bad budget option although you are also best advised to travel lightly as if there are "maintenance men" in the office, they wont accept your bags and you will have to take them with you before the guarenteed 3pm check in.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauly6060842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to see you found our rooms comfortable during your stay and our brand new LCD TV’s to be of a good standard.

Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed during your stay, we ask that all guests respect the privacy and minimum noise level. Any guests that hear excessive noise we advise to contact reception who will try to rectify the situation immediately.

It saddens us to see you did not enjoy our complimentary express start breakfast. We are constantly reviewing items within our breakfast area and have recently introduced Kenco coffee to our selection. We are aware that on the odd occasion when the machine runs out of coffee this is when the taste could be unpalatable; our Assistants are always on hand to help replenish these items.

Thank you for expressing your views, we appreciate your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Excellent location for access to city's interesting attractions - about 10 mins level walking route. Good facilities in hotel - nicely furnished, clean room. Breakfast was adequate and trays of food were replenished quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: quiet room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lassoflancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We appreciate all guests feeding information back to us.

I am pleased to see our location was of benefit to you. Not being directly in the City Centre does have its advantages, especially being able to leave the car in our on-site car park and not having the hassle of negotiating your way through the busy city traffic.

I have passed on your kind comments to our breakfast staff who work hard to replenish stock and be there for our guests.

Thank you again I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Hotels in Bath can be pricey, but the Holiday Inn Express is reasonable, and is well-located. It also has a car park, which can be very useful. The hotel is fairly basic, but adequate. Breakfast is provided, but is no more than OK - machine made coffee and rather dry croissants, with a cooked alternative of decent sausages, but mass-produced scrambled egg. All in all, acceptable for a night or two, but no longer. A plus point is a friendly and helpful staff team.

Room Tip: Can be noisy overlooking the car park, so a room at the back is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing your comments on our Trip Advisor page; we encourage all guests to feed back their experiences so that all other guests have a variation of opinions to read.

Our prices are regularly reviewed to give our guests the best competitive rates, so we are glad to see we achieved those targets for your stay. I am saddened to see our breakfast did not meet your needs, this area is a constant focus and we appreciate guest’s comments to make adjustments where possible.

I have passed on your kind words with regards to our staff, they all try their utmost to be of help and will go above and beyond to make a guests stay a positive experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

Can't moan about the location it was about 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city. As an added bonus right across the road was the the excellent "The Mint Room" Indian restaurant. The staff when we booked in, had a drink late night and left were on the whole friendly and helpful.

So that is the good now the.....bad.

The rooms are clean and tidy but if you are not on your own I am not so sure they are big enough to share. The bathroom has a really bizarre and annoying door that can lock in two places. While the bed was too soft for me. All of those in our party who stayed in different rooms also got annoyed by the AC system which on an alternate basis blasts hot and cold air at you while you try to sleep.

The breakfast was at best functional. This though, I know, is not unique to this hotel and just how the Express Hotels are. I guess you have to see it as a trade off for the decent price. That said orange juice that tasted liked detergent wasn't great.

Overall if you are looking at a one night stay the hotel isn't so bad. Any longer and the downsides might start to annoy.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mhred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for commenting on your stay with us. All feedback is essential to ensure we are providing services to a high standard.

I am pleased to see our location was useful during your stay, although not directly in the City centre we are just far enough not get the usual city centre noise. As you have experienced the Mint Room is an excellent choice of restaurant when visiting.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding our cleanliness levels; all housekeepers take great pride in providing a spotlessly clean room. All of our rooms are of a standard size which complies with UK legislation; and you will find that all hotels of this brand will be the same. Our full service brand Holiday Inns can offer many different rooms types should you be looking for something more spacious.

Please accept my apologies with regards to the AC units; they will still try to keep the room at the set temperature if electricity is still active. We would have been more than happy to assist with this matter.

Thank you for alerting us with regards to the orange juice; we have now been in contact with our suppliers who will be visiting to investigate further.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.5 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
3.5 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,795 - ₹ 16,299
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing