We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Nearby Hotels
SACO Bath - St James Parade(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
US$ 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 291
US$ 276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 212
US$ 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 259
US$ 170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 105
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 162
US$ 147
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 218
US$ 202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 130
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveller rating
410
740
337
80
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
740
337
80
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkhi expressgreen park stationcity centresofa bedbuilding workminute walkhome baseper nightbuffet breakfastthe breakfast areareception stafffamily roomone night stayreception areamain roadgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
1,207 - 1,212 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Holiday Inn Express offer a good basic service with a decent size room. Unfortunately it is decorated as if it were the 1980s with blue and brown wood veneer. But there is a very comfortable bed and a giant flat screen television to remind you it is the twenty-first century. There is also a large car park which is great when you want to avoid using your car due to fuel shortage hysteria.

The rooms can be a bit noisy with children running up and down the corridors. Breakfast finishes at an insanely early 9.30 but you will be up well before that anyway with the children as your alarm clock.

For those wanting coffee, you will find the breakfast disappointing and it is at least a five minute walk to an establishment that has a coffee machine. The breakfast coffee dispenser provides a beverage that tastes like something from the bottom of the River Avon.

Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the cemetery as unlike children, the dead don't make much noise...

All told not a bad budget option although you are also best advised to travel lightly as if there are "maintenance men" in the office, they wont accept your bags and you will have to take them with you before the guarenteed 3pm check in.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Pauly6060842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to see you found our rooms comfortable during your stay and our brand new LCD TV’s to be of a good standard.

Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed during your stay, we ask that all guests respect the privacy and minimum noise level. Any guests that hear excessive noise we advise to contact reception who will try to rectify the situation immediately.

It saddens us to see you did not enjoy our complimentary express start breakfast. We are constantly reviewing items within our breakfast area and have recently introduced Kenco coffee to our selection. We are aware that on the odd occasion when the machine runs out of coffee this is when the taste could be unpalatable; our Assistants are always on hand to help replenish these items.

Thank you for expressing your views, we appreciate your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Excellent location for access to city's interesting attractions - about 10 mins level walking route. Good facilities in hotel - nicely furnished, clean room. Breakfast was adequate and trays of food were replenished quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: quiet room on high floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassoflancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. We appreciate all guests feeding information back to us.

I am pleased to see our location was of benefit to you. Not being directly in the City Centre does have its advantages, especially being able to leave the car in our on-site car park and not having the hassle of negotiating your way through the busy city traffic.

I have passed on your kind comments to our breakfast staff who work hard to replenish stock and be there for our guests.

Thank you again I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Hotels in Bath can be pricey, but the Holiday Inn Express is reasonable, and is well-located. It also has a car park, which can be very useful. The hotel is fairly basic, but adequate. Breakfast is provided, but is no more than OK - machine made coffee and rather dry croissants, with a cooked alternative of decent sausages, but mass-produced scrambled egg. All in all, acceptable for a night or two, but no longer. A plus point is a friendly and helpful staff team.

Room Tip: Can be noisy overlooking the car park, so a room at the back is a better choice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing your comments on our Trip Advisor page; we encourage all guests to feed back their experiences so that all other guests have a variation of opinions to read.

Our prices are regularly reviewed to give our guests the best competitive rates, so we are glad to see we achieved those targets for your stay. I am saddened to see our breakfast did not meet your needs, this area is a constant focus and we appreciate guest’s comments to make adjustments where possible.

I have passed on your kind words with regards to our staff, they all try their utmost to be of help and will go above and beyond to make a guests stay a positive experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Can't moan about the location it was about 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city. As an added bonus right across the road was the the excellent "The Mint Room" Indian restaurant. The staff when we booked in, had a drink late night and left were on the whole friendly and helpful.

So that is the good now the.....bad.

The rooms are clean and tidy but if you are not on your own I am not so sure they are big enough to share. The bathroom has a really bizarre and annoying door that can lock in two places. While the bed was too soft for me. All of those in our party who stayed in different rooms also got annoyed by the AC system which on an alternate basis blasts hot and cold air at you while you try to sleep.

The breakfast was at best functional. This though, I know, is not unique to this hotel and just how the Express Hotels are. I guess you have to see it as a trade off for the decent price. That said orange juice that tasted liked detergent wasn't great.

Overall if you are looking at a one night stay the hotel isn't so bad. Any longer and the downsides might start to annoy.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Mhred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for commenting on your stay with us. All feedback is essential to ensure we are providing services to a high standard.

I am pleased to see our location was useful during your stay, although not directly in the City centre we are just far enough not get the usual city centre noise. As you have experienced the Mint Room is an excellent choice of restaurant when visiting.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding our cleanliness levels; all housekeepers take great pride in providing a spotlessly clean room. All of our rooms are of a standard size which complies with UK legislation; and you will find that all hotels of this brand will be the same. Our full service brand Holiday Inns can offer many different rooms types should you be looking for something more spacious.

Please accept my apologies with regards to the AC units; they will still try to keep the room at the set temperature if electricity is still active. We would have been more than happy to assist with this matter.

Thank you for alerting us with regards to the orange juice; we have now been in contact with our suppliers who will be visiting to investigate further.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, and offers a good balance of comfort and value. I travelled on business, and the room is fine for one person, but if you are a couple, it would be a crowd; especially if you need to stay more than a couple of nights.

The bathroom is small and clean, with a rather ingenious door arrangement!

TV was good (free view), and tuned properly.

The cooked breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise, and to a good standard.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

I am pleased to see we were able to offer a good balance for you during your stay. We are also thrilled that you liked our unique door arrangement and newly installed LCD TV’s offering a wide selection of freeview channels.

Thank you again for your comments; we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews