We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, great service and delicious food”
Review of Sotto Sotto

Sotto Sotto
Ranked #3 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BOOKING IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. We are closed from 1st-14th August, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Easter Sunday & from 1st-14th January. Situated just a few steps away from the Roman Baths, our attractive and atmospheric restaurant is located in a charming candle lit historical cellar of natural Bath stone with vaulted ceilings throughout, and resembles the cavernous cellars of an Italian grotto.The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of our ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.We also like to offer traditional Italian dishes with a contemporary twist because we strongly believe in those 'Sapori' (flavours).With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure high quality dining that will exceed your expectations.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great service and delicious food”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel owner who is Italian, so we thought we would be on to a winner. The staff were lovely and nicely attentive. The restaurant is built in a vaulted space under the road. It has a lovely atmosphere but some of the doors and ceiling are low and taller people will need to duck. The food was delicious and was finished off perfectly by several limencello that were given to us as we were leaving which resulted in us enjoying the hospitality in the bar for a bit longer. I would really recommend this restaurant, we had a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TriskyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio A, General Manager at Sotto Sotto, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Many thanks from all of us here at Sotto Sotto your feedback and support is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,672
    496
    122
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We visited Sotto Sotto based purely on the Tripadvisor rating and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and very tasty. I recommend the calamari to start with, and I had a pizza which was amazing.

The service was also good, and the intimate feel of the place had a lovely atmosphere.

We had to book a table as they were fully booked a couple of nights, so bear that in mind if you are planning a visit.

My only criticism would be that my partner had a chocolate fondant for dessert which was a tad overcooked so it wasn't runny in the middle. My tiramisu was great though!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bella_darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio A, General Manager at Sotto Sotto, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Many thanks from all of us here at Sotto Sotto your feedback and support is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best Italian out side of Italy.”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Called on the off chance of a table & from what I hear I was lucky to get in without a reservation. Housed in cellers what it lacks in outlook it more than makes up for in taste. Wonderful cheesy garlic bread pizza to start ( after breads were prvided in a quirky brown paper bag) Pasta dishes delightful. Varied wine list & wonderful desserts & coffee. Particularly nice touch with the complimentary Limoncello at the end of the meal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellefast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio A, General Manager at Sotto Sotto, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Many thanks from all of us here at Sotto Sotto your feedback and support is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab Italian -Defworth a Visit when in Bath”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

From the moment you step,inside until the time you leave-SottoSotto Delivers! A Beautiful Restored Underground Cellar Restaurant with a contemporary feel and staff that are so friendly and welcoming. A lovely menu with a good choice of starters,Mains and Delicious Puddings that are so very reasonably priced. Good Selection of Wines & Spirits . What really finishes it off is the staff really are passionate about what they do and treat you as customers so very well. we have eaten out in Bath on many occasions & this is definitely a place to eat lovely food coupled with lovely friendly service.
Thank you Antonio,Carlo Welll be back !!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddnewburger19021968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio A, General Manager at Sotto Sotto, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Many thanks from all of us here at Sotto Sotto your feedback and support is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but not top notch”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Went here a couple of weeks back with my wife whilst on a break in Bath on Tripadvisor ranking - its a funky new place underground in a tunnel/cellar which is fun but does make it a bit loud. Was made to stand about for a couple of minutes in the bar area as we waited whilst the boss chatted with some regulars. Food was all good but not wonderful - fresh baked bread in a brown paper bag, calamari, goats cheese/beetroot salad, fried fish, tuna but my chocolate fondant was dry and a bit burnt

Service was very friendly but not very efficient - had to ask 4 times for a second round of drinks, twice for water and twice for coats at the end and when the bill came there was an extra glass of wine on it which they quickly corrected

Maybe we had too high expectations because of its ranking but we left a bit disappointed - although Jeremy Guscott at the next table seemed to be enjoying himself!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkatSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio A, General Manager at Sotto Sotto, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Sotto Sotto is in a solid stone cave which might, during busy times, be a bit loud for some.
The main characteristic of our cuisine is its simplicity. We rely on the quality of the ingredients rather than on elaborate preparation.
With our finest ingredients coming from Italy, and all of our fresh vegetables, seafood and meats sourced locally, we are able to ensure that our guests get the best quality food.
We are sorry that you had an underwhelming experience with us here at Sotto Sotto, we would very much like to discuss this with you further as your feedback is very important to us and helps better our restaurant. If you would like to call us on 01225 330326 we would be appreciative to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotto Sotto also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sotto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing