We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Menu Gordon Jones

Menu Gordon Jones
Ranked #1 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 52 - US$ 71
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Menu Gordon Jones is all about amazing food, with an element of surprise. All Chef's menus are seasonal, locally sourced and offer real value for money. To really tickle your taste buds try our dishes, all served by our friendly staff in a funky setting.
Fairfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are so happy we got reservations here. We emailed them 2 weeks in advance of our trip. Since we were only staying two nights in Bath, they were booked for dinner, but we were lucky to get a 1:30 lunch reservation. . BOOK EARLY! It is so worth it. Lunch was only chef's menu- 4 delicious courses and each was a perfect surprise. This is a #1 trip advisor restaurant for Bath and is totally worth its ranking! Reasonable priced for a very special experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gailpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    54
    29
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A rare delight in Bath”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Book, book NOW, without delay before he gets reviewed by Michelin. Its hard enough to get a table now, it will be impossible in a few months' time. Before we finished the starter we had rebooked for my birthday and it is already fully booked for the next 4 months. Why am I telling you this.....!

Its tiny, its quirky, there is no menu - you get what you are given and it is sublime. A rare treat in Bath where passing trade means restauranteurs rarely try. Thank you. We had such a wonderful time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

I love the format, I would not change a single thing, and of course the food is a truly exceptional experience, there is only one way of responding and that is to go back again and again.

Sadly this fact means that Menu Gordon Jones is destined for greatness and thus the format will change, but success is deserved. I just hope I am able to return before events overtake the venue.

We visited on our wedding anniversary, for lunch and ate what is the most memorable meal of the last 30 years.

Thankyou, you deserve 1st place in TripAdvisor!

Helpful?
2 Thank SurreySmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb small restaurant”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wonderful menu with real enthusiasm displayed from Gordon. Real value from a top chef. Will definitely visit again

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be going back soon!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The food at Gordon Jones was out of this world. Every course was incredible and well thought out. The waitress was so friendly and it was great for them to take time and talk us through our menu at each course. I would definitely recommend the wines alongside the meal- we had some of the best wines we'd ever tasted. I already cannot wait to go back and will be spreading the word about how fantastic this place and food is. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menu Gordon Jones also viewed

 

Been to Menu Gordon Jones? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing