We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gastronomic delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menu Gordon Jones

Menu Gordon Jones
Ranked #2 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 69
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Menu Gordon Jones is all about amazing food, with an element of surprise. All Chef's menus are seasonal, locally sourced and offer real value for money. To really tickle your taste buds try our dishes, all served by our friendly staff in a funky setting.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gastronomic delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Each one of the seven courses of the Gordon Jones meal was truly extraordinary. The combination of ingredients was unusual, but always delicious. Gordon Jones pays meticulous attention to both cooking and presentation, and has a real flair for both, while not losing sight of the whole 'event'. This is real talent.
The only thing we didn't like was the background piped pop music. We asked for it to be turned down - which it was - but it was still there. In a small venue like this, you only need a few voices to fill the space, and when we were there, there was no shortage of conversation. Give me the burble of talking humans any day.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dookyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    50
    27
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best little restaurant in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Four of us had lunch recently on a Saturday. The food was excellent from the bread served with little bottles of very good olive oil and balsamic vinegar through to the imaginative kulfi ice cream with mango sorbet and tiny sponge cakes. Perfectly cooked flavoursome food washed down with excellently priced wines and jugs of minted water. Eat here now before Gordon gets a deserved Michelin star and you have to book months in advance!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Michelin food without the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I read the reviews for MGJ after deciding to have a few days in Bath with my wife. 1st time I had found somewhere on TA where all reviews were excellent. Having been there I now know why. We had lunch there today. It simply put is excellent. It has no more than 16 covers, Chef Jones is alone in his small open kitchen but when his friendly smiling waitress places plate after plate in front of you it is a sheer delight. I have eaten all the other world in Michelin starred restaurants and paid ridiculous amounts to eat. This place is an absolute find. Once Bath realises what they have I really envisage big things for Mr Jones. Having eaten the previous night at Michael Caines Bath priory, which was very good, I can honestly say that MGJ surpassed it at a third of the price. Bath residents get out and support this eatery. You do not know how lucky you are to have it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourite meals - ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were in Bath for a long weekend away from London. We eat out a lot and were looking for somewhere good to go in Bath. We had a fantastic meal here - loved every single dish of the six courses, great atmosphere - watching the chef create his masterpieces with great music on in the background was definitely a highlight. Lovely waitress and really did feel like being at a friend's house. Recommend 100%. Oh - and if you're used to anything like London prices then this is an absolute bargain.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything was just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We visited this restaurant on recommendations from friends and were so glad that they did.
Food was superb. Every course was described by the waitress and tasted so good.
We will be back!
I wasn't eating chocolate and had let the restaurant know beforehand and they ensured that for the pudding course that I had something equally as tasty.
Thank you.
We wish you every success.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 228marthasharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menu Gordon Jones also viewed

 

Been to Menu Gordon Jones? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing