We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
worthing
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just come back from a weekend in Bath staying at Apsley House. It's a lovely hotel, and everyone is very friendly. The breakfast (inc our veggie option) is great, but the Sunday special of eggs florentine was fantastic.

Loved Bath, especially in the glorious February weather.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    155
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
167
947
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

A really charming B&B. Staff were pleasant, attentive and helpful. Location was a 20 min walk from the city centre, or 7 pounds by taxi. Rooms have been elegantly and lovingly decorated and the breakfast room has a beautiful view out over the garden.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pame84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Hotel is small , but nice. The rooms are very clean , pretty , beds so comfortable. Every room is decorate different... Staff lovely.
Breakfast ok. But if you like well done eggs or scramble eggs , make shore, you ask.
We went to celebrate Valentine day. Was ok... But to be honest I was accept little be moro from hotel. May by just small red rose will be nice or glass sparkling wine ...

Room Tip: Check rooms pictures in internet.. So, you can chose style which you like.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

A lovely hotel situated just outside the centre of Bath. It was clean, warm (on a very chilly February weekend), and very serene. We stayed in the Champagne room which had a beautiful, comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and one of the best features was the breakfast! My boyfriend and I aren't morning people but we got up especially for our breakfast, it was delicious! I would highly recommend this hotel - particularly to international tourists. I think they would love the charm and 'quintessentially British' nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelorisPurdy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Apsley Hotel/B&B is a wonderful accommodation. It is an elegant Georgian Country House Hotel built in 1830, by the Duke of Wellington, set in its own delightful garden. As old as the structure is, it is modern in every way. There are only twelve rooms in the main building so a person is never in a crowd or waiting in a line.

My wife and I stayed there for about a week in late October. The place is clean, quaint and it has free WiFi. The staff is outstanding—very helpful and attentive. The breakfast is a memorable experience. It is served from a small menu with changing specials each the day. The Breakfast room is furnished elegantly with the tables covered in white cloths and set with nice china and linen napkins. The food is very good and presented well. A rose on the table was a nice touch.

Breakfast is the only meal served at the hotel. There is a do-it-yourself tea service in the rooms and that is nice to have for fixing a cuppa during the day.

The lounge adjoining the breakfast room has an operating fireplace, comfy chairs and a self serve bar. The drinks are not complimentary, but the price is quite reasonable.

The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Wellington room on the first floor and it was furnished with antique furniture and a big king size bed. The bathroom had a separate shower stall and a soaking tub. It was very modern and certainly spacious enough. Our room was very quiet and comfortable.

The hotel grounds are well kept and there is a lawn, garden and a table or two in the back. It would be a nice place to relax on a warm summer evening. Being there in October is was a bit chilly for that, but the potential during better weather was obvious.

There is some free parking available in the front of the hotel, but we were not driving so that was not important to us. At this point I should mention the only little difficulty we found with the Apsley House Hotel. It is located a bit farther from downtown Bath than we thought it would be. We went into town every day by taxi which was arranged by the desk clerk so it wasn’t a huge problem. It was suggested that we could walk the distance down the hill to restaurants and a pub. However, as we are both seniors that distance was just a bit daunting to us.

We purchased picnic food in the town and ate in our room in the evening. The management encourages that. They provided plates and eating utensils for the asking.

Our stay at the award winning Apsley House Hotel was a fantastic and enjoyable experience. I can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.0 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
3.1 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
2.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
3.5 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,008 - ₹ 18,595
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the City, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing