We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay!”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Eureka, California
1 review
“Enjoyed Our Stay!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The location was good, only a short walk into town, and quiet. Our room overlooked the hotel's lovely garden and we could hear the church bells from town in the evening. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a nice stay. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was very good. If we get back to Bath, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden. It is away from the street, so it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    303
    94
    28
    21
See reviews for
103
830
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A pretty hotel, obviously old as with the rest of Bath - but could still do with some paint on the outside and newer bathrooms if they really want to be 5 star. Perhaps its a 5 star B&B rather than a 5 star Hotel! It is nice and cosy, breakfast was lovely albeit ends very early. 10 min walk to the center - pretty walk over the canal.

The comment about it being haunted is interesting as we took some photos and there were circles on the wall and shadows over our heads that couldnt be accounted for. (Nothing to do with the lights or flash..) However all of Bath is old and I think all the hotels and houses probably have history. Not something to worry about

Room Tip: The Tulip room has one double bed and one single - perfect for 3 friends like us! and a huge room x
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here for about 3 nights with my partner about 10 years ago. Our room was bright an airy and the staff (including the owner) were helpful & very friendly.

On the last afternoon at our stay in the hotel we went back to get ready for an evening out, wining & dining in the city. I was chatting to my partner when he said to me in a quiet tone, 'Look at the mirror.' I turned to see the mirror attached to an old dresser moving back and forth quite considerably on its own. We watched the ghostly occurence for a few seconds until it became still.

As you can imagine we were terrified by our supernatural experience and slept with the light in the en-suite bathroom on that night.

Apart from that we enjoyed our stay at The Ayrlington Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

First of all let's be clear this hotel is NO five star. We stayed for two nights in the Chinese room. The owner is not being fair as the gallery image of the Chinese Room is not what you actually get. The pictures on the back wall of the bed have been removed as have the nice ornates over the fire place which have also been taken out. The IPOD docking station is of poor quality as the speakers give out a high pitched squeak when you play the device. The shower head also leaks spurting water to the left all over the wall. When I mentioned all of these points to the owner I was simply told " oh that's nice" The room also has a safe in the room but this does not work. I was told that the batteries had gone but the owner did not no how to replace them. For £160 per night this is not five star nor does it represent good value. Thankfully the breakfast was of reasonable standard. Toiletries and bath robes are of cheap quality for what is regarded as a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by gallery images. Go by reviews or ask the owner if the gallery image is a true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed in the "Zen" room, filthy dusty . No direct access to hotel. Cold walk to breakfast reception and lounge/bar. Overpriced everything! Chinese landlady thinks this is 5star, stayed in nicer B+Bs .
dont go

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
2.3 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Property: The Ayrlington
Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,916 - ₹ 24,790
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing