We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #27 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So comfortable”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Having just got back from Oldfields, I can only say excellent.
A warm welcome as you walk through the door as well as tea and coffee and the theme continues throughout the stay. The food is good too, well worth a visit to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andystriumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    304
    70
    12
    4
See reviews for
92
781
70
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed one night in an attic room, similar to the other reviewer I found it noisy, despite double glazed window, and hot. The en-suite was a little cupboard with a big heated towel rail which pumped out the heat and didnt appear to be able to be turned off. Couldnt open the window as it was too noisy!
The room was clean and bed was fine, but the noise was aproblem, overlooking the busy Wells road.
Breakfast was pretty good, and the ambience pleasant.
The parking is very limited, and it can be hard to park on surrounding streets. I suppose you could walk into the town centre.
The price, however was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyareallchosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

When reading other reviews about this place we thought we would be in for a treat. However when shown to our room , Number 15 ,it was in the attic space which was very small , also there was mould in the bathroom as the ventilation was poor and a large hole around the plug sockets which was unsightly. We wish we had chosen more wisely. The Welcome was warm and breakfast was okay but not exactly four star with the wait being 40 minutes from point of order. The location was a ten to fifteen minute walk into town . Maybe the room is awaiting its makeover?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We are sorry that this guest did not have the anticipated treat that is experienced by the majority of our guests. Our Standard Queen room is priced as our budget offering and, as such, is 15 metres square. The picture of the room shows the sloping roof-line as the room is in the eaves. Despite the room's budget pricing, the room still offers the same luxury items offered in our superior rooms (e.g. air conditioning, flat-screen TV and DVD, tea/coffee facilities and free Molton Brown toiletries).

Regarding the mould in the bathroom - our standard room checks and deep cleaning cycles normally keep this situation under control. The occurrence in this particular room was discovered and rectified almost immediately after the guest's departure.

Unfortunately, on the day in question, the majority of guests came down for breakfast all together towards the end of service. As all our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order, this caused a delay for which we can only apologise.

We are saddened that guests do not relate their disappointments whilst they are still with us and when we are more able to address their own specific issues. We endeavour to ask every guest (at checkout time) about the standard of their accommodation and if they were happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Only complaint is that our schedule didn't allow us to stay longer. Very friendly staff who offered tea on our arrival -- which we needed after Good Friday on the M4 from Heathrow! Parking was tight, but available and, as someone else mentioned, provided even for a few hours after we checked out. Our queen room was surprisingly spacious, our son's single was "cosy" but perfectly adequate as a single. Breakfast was outstanding -- why don't American sausages taste this good? Definitely recommend and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy_Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice and would definately return. Good welcome, very clean, approx 10 minute walk to the city centre (although maybe longer on return as its located on top of a hill!) But that didnt bother me and an amazing breakfast, so much so I felt spoilt for choice and everything tasted great.

No curfew so if you return a little late at night it doesnt matter. Found it a very peaceful B&B, quiet and relaxed, bed was extremely comfy and facilities in bedroom very good.

I cant actually fault this B&B at all. The only thing maybe is that there is limited parking in the car park, although I managed to park my car there on both occasions all weekend so I didnt have problems with this.

I would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,118 reviews
1.3 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,360 reviews
0.9 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,618 reviews
0.1 km away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#20 of 157 in Bath
1,078 reviews
2.4 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,888 - ₹ 15,922
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing