We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“did not live upto the five AA stars” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haydon House

Haydon House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haydon House
Ranked #155 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“did not live upto the five AA stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

Unfortunately this accommodation did not live upto the details given on the website. There were three females staying in the family room, booked at least one month ago. The bathroom was below standard, nineteen seventies avocado suite which was chipped and had a poor flow for the shower which was at naval height. This meant that you had to kneel to have any sort of shower at all which was most uncomfortable and unsatisfactory. There was no duvet cover on my duvet, the wardrobe doors on one of the wardrobes did not open and the other had no handles on it. There was no bar of soap in the bathroom and the toilet proved difficult to flush. The website offered luxury bath robes, of which there were none. We asked and were given waffle robes because previous guests had stolen these robes if left out. However, it would have been nice to have been offered them on arrival. The literature states that every conceivable comfort is offered. It was not. The manager was hospitable and the room was clean and the bed was comfortble. However, we have been told the guest house is being sold so that would account for below standard facilties? No receipt was given upon payment. It was certainly not value for money. We visited another guest house whilst in Bath, also 5 star and this was of a completely different standard for the same price.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank switchj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    16
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
who14372
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

My husband, parents and I spent one night at the Haydon House. Despite our late arrival, we received a warm, friendly greeting and advice on a pub close by to eat. The Elderberry and Blueberry rooms were beautiful and comfortable - we couldn't have asked for a better respite after a long flight from Phoenix, Arizona and a drive from Heathrow. We didn't go in to Bath center but I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a beautiful, quiet place to stay with very comfortable facilities.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms with large, comfortable beds
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank who14372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Haydon House was a delightful base for our stay in Bath. The house was sparkling clean and well maintained, and there's a pretty garden. The hostess, Judith, was outgoing and extremely helpful. Our room was comfortable and much more roomy that is typical in a B&B, with the added bonus of a very spacious en suite bathroom. The B&B is a twenty to thirty minute uphill walk from the tourist center of Bath, but there is a convenient bus service, and taxis are readily available and not too expensive. Breakfasts were delicious and hearty.. One peculiarity was that we were asked to sign up each evening for a breakfast time for the following morning and make our menu selections at the same time. All in all, Haydon House is a charming and comfortable choice for a visit to Bath.

  • Liked — Spacious room and bath
  • Disliked — Distance from center of Bath.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

We visited Haydon House for our anniversary and we would highly recommend to stop here.

Hotel is presented lovely. We were greeted by the very helpful maid who showed us to our rooms which was ready early too which was a bonus. We got the bus into Bath city centre which took about 5 minutes and cost £2.70 return. We did walk one day too.. it take about 15 minutes tops and is down hill.. we didnt attempt to walk back though as it did look pretty steep.

The owners of the hotel were lovely. We were even given a glass of Sherry whilst we waited for our Taxi. We ate at Mai Thai- which was lovely too!

We stopped in the Blue berry room- it was gorgeous. Four poster bed, sofa, dressing table, plenty of space, big bathroom, Hair dryer, trouser press, and nice shower. Couldnt wish for anything more really. The breakfast was spot on, it was the nicest breakfast we have had in a b & b.

Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and Breakfast
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

We stayed in the Haydon House for 3 nights over Easter. The place is clean and comfortable, and the hosts were very friendly. For people wishing to stay close to town, I wouldn't recommend this place because it is a 15-20 minute walk away. The walk coming back from town involves going up hills which I didn't fancy. Haydon House is on a quiet residential street, away from shops and restaurants. Taxis into town ranged from 5 to 10 pounds.

  • Liked — The breakfast was great
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manishnandha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 km away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#42 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 km away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#36 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
9.1 km away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.4 km away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
5.1 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haydon House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haydon House

Property: Haydon House
Address: 9 Bloomfield Park, Bath BA2 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,352 - ₹ 3,024
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Haydon House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing