We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in laws”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
huddersfield
1 review
“in laws”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

just like to confirm everything our son in law wrote about the visit we shared with them,

excellent accomadation.super couple,and a good pot of tea on arrival

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
287
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent three days here back in March. Excellent rooms, (great shower), hearty breakfasts and spotlessly cleaned. The winning feature however was Glynn and Dianne who couldnt do more (without being in your face), located a good walk from town so save yourslef the hassle and get a taxi back after a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyDublin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Glynn and Dianne were fantastic hosts and quite rightly very proud of their beautiful home, spotlessly clean and light.
They were most helpful with all our queries that we had on our first visit to Bath, giving us lots of good tips on where to go and what to do.
We had a room with an ensuite with a slipper bath which was lovely, a good choice of dvds to watch in your room was a nice touch too.
The breakfast was really well done just how we like it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelletom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was our second stay with Diane and Glynn and this time, my wife's parents came with us. Our visit was to see our son, who is living and working in Bath.

My mother-in-law is very fastidious about aspects such as cleanliness, tidiness and friendliness, but I wasn't in the least concerned that Hawkins of Bath might not meet her exacting standards. And I was proved correct - everything was spot on!

Diane met us with tea, and we spent a very pleasant hour chatting about the delights that Bath has to offer. The in-laws were delighted with their room (as were we with ours), stating that it was a good as anywhere they had previously stayed.

Add to this the warmth and friendliness of our hosts, and we had the perfect weekend. Diane even invited our son to have breakfast with us - at no extra charge.

I strongly recommend that if you visit this delightful city, you stay at Hawkins of Bath. Ask Diane and Glynn to show you their photographs of the restoration and conversion work they carried out on their home. But don't mention Ronseal to Glyn :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElDromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in April, wanting to spend a couple of days in Bath. I cannot recommend this b&b enough - it is warm, comfortable and ultra clean but the best thing is the hosts - so lovely and welcoming! When we arrived, we were even offered a lift into the city and then Glen showed us around some wonderful Squares and Crescents that we would not see on the Walking Tour we were going on. After seeing the sights and shopping til we dropped, we got a taxi back and spent the evening at the b&b watching one of the excellent DVDs on offer - a great idea. The b&b is out of town, but getting a taxi back was affordable (around £5.50, cheaper than the bus for 2 of you or more) and there is a bus stop outside Hawkins. I have stayed in Bath a few times and always before in the centre, but the nights have been noisy - this night was wonderfully quiet in the most comfortable of beds! The breakfast the next morning was wonderful, in their lovely dining area which is really beautiful. I highly recommend this place - go book now!

Room Tip: we stayed in the family room - great space to really relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevergrim, Owner at Hawkins of Bath, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you 'Jamietrip' for your very kind review. Diane and I are very lucky to have so many nice people such as yourself visit us here at Hawkins. We believe that It makes the experience for both guest and proprietor an happy and rewarding one. We are lucky that we are situated in such a location that a short trip into the city centre takes in the squares and Crescents that you mention in your review. Although we can not always offer lifts as standard, we always try to combine such a service if we need to pop into central Bath ourselves for any reason. We are delighted that we were able, in some small way, to enhance your stay in this Beautiful city. Best Wishes, Glyn and Diane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 km away
Apsley House Hotel
2.8 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
2.0 km away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
3.7 km away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.3 km away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#5 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Property: Hawkins of Bath
Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,212 - ₹ 11,121
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing