We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
151
128
63
38
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
128
63
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house woodland view tennis courts outdoor pool hydro beds garden room steam room lovely hotel separate building country hotel few stairs min drive breakfast and dinner english countryside spa hotel special birthday relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Booked here for a relaxing night away and unfortunately was let down in so many ways. Firstly the rooms are really hot with no air con and the windows don’t open. The shower kept dripping all night and I woke up twice during the night to squeeze out the towel I had to lay in the bath to stop the noise of the dripping. After a terrible nights sleep I went for breakfast and returned at 8.40am to relax and read my book only to have the blaring noise of the groundsman cutting down trees first thing in the morning. So I decided to go for a walk and asked reception what the best route was. I was advised there was no route and the only option was to walk along the driveway. I honestly thought she was pulling my leg. It appeared she wasn’t. Although they boast of the hotel being set in 74 acres of land, absolutely none of it is accessible to use. What areas there were are poorly kept and overgrown. The steps leading out into the garden from the main building are quite literally a death trap. Broken, uneven and falling apart. They need to be repaired ASAP or someone will have an accident.

The spa is like something out the 80’s and you have to walk outside and all the way around the block to then walk all the way back on yourself to get the pool, that’s actually located right next to the rooms.

The lady on reception when we checked asked if we enjoyed our stay. When I mentioned the problems she really couldn’t have cared less. Totally not the relaxing spa break it states it provides on the website. Best avoided unless it’s a business stay

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank gourmetkinglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CombeGroveBath, Manager at Combe Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello Damianlondon78. We’re sincerely sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay on so many levels. The maintenance team has since addressed your room feedback so that, as per all our Lodge rooms, the window does now open freely and the dripping shower head has been fixed. As the pool and gym are so busy with members, unfortunately, it’s only possible for us to have one main entrance/exit. Your reception team comments have been noted and we are committed to supporting the team with more training on local walks, such as nearby Bath Skyline. Under new ownership since March 2017, we are also in the process of developing the grounds with more path access and renovation of heritage features. Yours sincerely, Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We spent a very pleasant two nights here. Quite a drive up the side of the valley from the village then within the site. We were early so had tea in the bar area - the start of the delightfully eclectic mix of furnishings and wallpaper. The ground floor windows are huge with glorious views across the valley. Our bedroom on the first floor also had the views. We had a pleasant evening meal with a good choice of wines. Breakfast was impressive with good choice of buffet or cooked meals. We both had omelettes which were lovely although my omelette the following morning was obviously cooked by a different chef - nicer presentation and more spinach with the mushrooms! Our room was spacious and had a small seating area, also a window seat. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The shower looked most impressive but was let down by insufficient water pressure. Lovely large white, fluffy towels and robes provided. In all a very pleasant stay though the outside seating arrangements are in need of a little tlc. Would happily return

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CombeGroveBath, Manager at Combe Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thanks very much for the kind comments, GinaG. Tlc comments noted. We are in the process of renovating various areas of the hotel and grounds and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

The room window did not open and there was no air conditioning: result, an unbearably stuffy room (fans don't solve the issue - there were 3 fans in the room!); the room does not have a mini bar!!! in a 4* hotel it's unacceptable; the entrance to the pool makes you cross the street (however, there is a direct door to/from the rooms' building (but is locked) - that's a bad idea! there is constant traffic in front of the building of the rooms caused by those who use the health club without staying in the hotel - that is also a very bad idea! to go to the outdoor pool you have to cross the road - lousy idea, especially if you are with children.
It seems that everything is thought for the users of the health club and not for the guests - bad idea, certainly influenced by business policy, but that is not to be accepted in a hotel of this category.

However: the room size is good, bed is very good; the breakfast was well served (although not unexpected for the price you pay). The indoor pool is nice and the view is beautiful.

Room tip: Standard rooms don't allow you to open the window! room becomes very stuffy.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sergi0Lira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CombeGroveBath, Manager at Combe Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello Sergio, Sincere apologies that you were disappointed with any element of your stay. We have since been working on The Lodge rooms so the window in your room does now open. As the hotel is built on a steep hill, we are a bit constrained by the positioning of the one-way exit road which does lead in front of The Lodge rooms down a slight incline and some metres away. However, the private outside seating areas and views from those rooms are seen as a bonus by many. Our staying guest experience is very important to us and we’re so sorry that you felt otherwise. Lovely to see that you enjoyed the pool! Kind regards, Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel and facilities were fab, lovely spa, fairly pricey but delicious food with a good selection of english wines.
Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful views, I would certainly recommend a stay here

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 502charlotteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CombeGroveBath, Manager at Combe Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you, Charlotte. Great to see! Kind regards, Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

My husband booked this for one night for my birthday on our way back from Devon to London. It was a welcome break from other our nights staying in B&Bs which had outdated furniture and the same old English breakfast everyday. Combe Grove has a lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi and for much of my time there, I had the pool to myself - fabulous! The people staying there are very pleasant and it is child-friendly.

Some reviewers here have complained about not staying in the main manor but given the price we got, I was happy with being in the new block - plus it has a perfect shortcut to the pool which is a great plus!

The breakfast was the star of the show here - as vegetarians, we loved the fresh options available and the attractive presentation - avoids on toast is such a welcome break from yet another Linda McCartney sausage!

I did not use the treatments and we did not stay for dinner as it looked pricey and portions looked small - the drive into Bath is less than 10 minutes and you are spoiled for choice with restaurants nearby. I'd come here again for sure !

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MeeraD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CombeGroveBath, Manager at Combe Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thanks so much for the kind comments, Meera D. Hope to welcome you back to Combe Grove soon! Kind regards, Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews