We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freezing cold and still no duvets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Kent
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Freezing cold and still no duvets!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have stayed at several Shearings hotels and this is the best so far. The food was good, and enough not to leave the table feeling hungry (The Savoy, Bournemouth). The restaurant was well set out, so we did not feel as though we were eating in a canteen (St Ives Bay); the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had a lovely room on the first floor (104, over the Easter weekend); right by the road, but we did not get distrubed by the traffic. However, it was freezing cold. We reported it after the first night and were assured it would be rectified. It was not and the 2nd night was even worse. As they are still using blankets, despite previous postings that this was being changed, it was impossible to snuggle down and get warm, even in bed. On the 3rd night, a portable heater was provided, but it was such a large room, it did no more than take the chill off. The radiators were not working at all, until late(well after 18.30) on the 3rd night, a bit late for us. Although the reception staff were polite, no refund or compensation was offered. Reliable heating is the least a guest should expect from an hotel in the 21st cenury. It appears that heating is a problem for this hotel, so perhaps getting a full overhaul should be a priority. Overall, not a bad hotel and at £112 per room per night for dinner, bed and breakfast, not bad value either, but it could be so much better with a bit more care.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheValients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear TheValients
Thanks for your review it was nice to see you thought the Lansdown was the best you have visited so far. As to the heating of the hotel this isn't an area we normally have any issues. Hopefully any problems you had don’t happen again. You will be pleased to know the duvets are on their way !
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    113
    34
    17
See reviews for
83
406
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Went on a Shearings holiday, hotel absolutely fabulous, extremly helpful friendly staff, lovely delicious meals and good entertainment.
Phil our driver was very helful and informative all through the holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sandra C
Just what we like to see a happy guest. Great review
Thank you
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

stayed for 4 nights...nice big hotel.good size room...tt breakfast you can have as much as you like..ie,cereal,yoghurt,fruit juices...croissants....then you order english breakfast..which is nice except for awful sausage every day..excellent unobtrusive service.
evening meals are good.didnt need to pay dear supplements they ask for.
overall..would stay again..nice bed..warm room..good staff...an identical shearing holiday..well priced so cant complain about lack of investment in decor for fhe last 30 years.............!

Room Tip: there were only ambassador rooms left,therefore cost £100 per room for 4 nights...uuuhh..apparently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwahfwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Fwahfwah
Thanks for your great comments we do pride ourselves on giving value for money on our breaks. The early you book the better chance you have of getting the room type you want. Hope you see again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is part of the Coast & Country chain, the hotel is at the top of a hill overlooking Bath. Only a 15 minute walk into Bath but 45 minute return due to the hill. Great exercise when you have had a cream team. Our stay was over 3 nights BB & Evening meal. We were given a family room which gave us plenty of space to spread ourselves out, the bed was large and the shower really good with plenty of power. Breakfast was very good we had the Full English and there were plenty of cereals and juices’. The evening meal was excellent with a varied choice on the set menu or for a supplement there were other choices. The meal was well presented and the service top class.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear PWaine
What a review thank you so much from all the staff including myself we love getting comments like this. We do try to do our best with what facilities we have.
Thanks again
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a 5 day self drive short break with Shearings and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, rooms, staff and food. We had room 324, which although the decor is definatley of the faded glory style, had a lovely position, with great views over the city, however I would definately agree with previous reviewers that the carpet is a trip hazard especially for those less mobile on their feet! The deal we took included evening meals, which were of a good standard, choice and portion size, and a £25.00 per person "bar" account, which was great and easy to spend! One of the best features of this hotel is the staff, who are a credit to the company, being curteous, friendly and extremely efficient, especialy Abdul in the bar. Overall, a very good value for money break and would consider using Shearings again. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munrobashers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Munrobashers2

Its great to see staff names getting mentioned as it gives everyone a bit of a buzz .As I have mentioned in previous reviews we are continuing to try to improve all areas of our hotel.
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.0 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.2 km away
Apsley House Hotel
2.4 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,608 - ₹ 21,337
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing