We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay in Bath” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Bath
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is part of the Coast & Country chain, the hotel is at the top of a hill overlooking Bath. Only a 15 minute walk into Bath but 45 minute return due to the hill. Great exercise when you have had a cream team. Our stay was over 3 nights BB & Evening meal. We were given a family room which gave us plenty of space to spread ourselves out, the bed was large and the shower really good with plenty of power. Breakfast was very good we had the Full English and there were plenty of cereals and juices’. The evening meal was excellent with a varied choice on the set menu or for a supplement there were other choices. The meal was well presented and the service top class.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PWaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear PWaine
What a review thank you so much from all the staff including myself we love getting comments like this. We do try to do our best with what facilities we have.
Thanks again
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    283
    105
    33
    17
See reviews for
75
375
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a 5 day self drive short break with Shearings and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, rooms, staff and food. We had room 324, which although the decor is definatley of the faded glory style, had a lovely position, with great views over the city, however I would definately agree with previous reviewers that the carpet is a trip hazard especially for those less mobile on their feet! The deal we took included evening meals, which were of a good standard, choice and portion size, and a £25.00 per person "bar" account, which was great and easy to spend! One of the best features of this hotel is the staff, who are a credit to the company, being curteous, friendly and extremely efficient, especialy Abdul in the bar. Overall, a very good value for money break and would consider using Shearings again. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munrobashers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Munrobashers2

Its great to see staff names getting mentioned as it gives everyone a bit of a buzz .As I have mentioned in previous reviews we are continuing to try to improve all areas of our hotel.
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Ok, it's a little dated. However, we very much enjoyed our stay and overall felt that it was good value. The dining experience was first class and the staff friendly and efficient.
We hope to return at some future date. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekenders23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Weekenders23
Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

For me there were only minor gripes; just little things such as that the hotel is decoratively tired and a little dated, the curtains and bed spread was like something from the 80's! I was hoping for a wow factor to the rooms but our room was very average. Bed was pretty comfy; would of preferred a duvet rather than big old wooly blankets though. It was lovely to have a small table and 2 chairs in the room with a lovely view out of the massive window. It was great to have an en-suite and although the shower was lovely and powerful the shower curtain was useless water spilled all over the floor. I don't know if it is the case all the time, but the Hotel is extremely hot; seems like the central heating is on at full blast at all times, and we couldn't turn it down in our room. Which meant we had a slightly uncomfortable evening and we even slept with the bedroom window open! (in February)
The Hotel is practically at the very top of a hill, which is very steap; I am quite active my self and found the slog back to the hotel from the town quite tiring. The hotel is quite rambling inside; we were on the 3rd floor and once out of the tiny lift there were steps up and down twists and turns etc, which didn't necessarily bother me but a word of caution to anyone with mobility difficulties.
The food was decent, it wasn't always entierly to my taste; but the service and presentation was excellent and there was barely any wait to get our food. All the staff were very friendly and I think for the price we paid (£99 each for 2nights HB) the hotel was excellent value for money and I would definately return, and I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the Hotel, and had a lovely view accross Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyReyn_lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear KatyReynoldsX
Thanks for posting your comments online. We have dated the main building back to 1827 with extra addtions added on over the past 200 years. Previous comments from other guests have mentioned this by saying it adds great character.We are currently in the process of changing over to quilts and hope to have this all finished soon.We have a great bus service that runs every 15 mins up and down the hill into the city centre . I have past on your brillant comments to all the staff concerned. Hope you return soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have just had an very enjoyable Shearing 5 day stay at the Lansdown Grove Hotel in Bath . It was great value for money, with pleasant staff, very well presented food and a clean room. The hotel is dated, but had much charm and I would certainly holiday there again. I must mention Phil, our coach driver, who went the extra mile for his passengers and with a smile.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room overlooking the road. It was rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Patricia B
Phil our current driver was over the moon to hear about this comment.
He says "Thank you"
It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and would come back again.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 33 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 33 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,491 - ₹ 13,024
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing