We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lodge with a difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #26 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lodge with a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

we stayed overnight at Bailbrook Lodge and found the staff very helpful - quiet location with a charming room,comfortable bed - bathroom with shower only on the small size but adequate. the breakfast was delicious with a wide variety in a lovely dining room that overlooked the garden. Car parking on site . The use of their internet computer was available for all guests

Room Tip: the lodge building is located at the back of the property so no road noise - very quiet location - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    152
    57
    26
    16
See reviews for
68
360
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marmaris, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife & I stayed here for our 3rd anniversary on Sept 1st -2nd. Firstly the directions on the hotels website need updating as you will encounter 2 roundabouts b4 getting to the roundabout they mention. We found the hotel after asking a few locals.
Pro's: Most of the staff are friendly & very helpful, especially Justine. Room was very clean. Comfortable bed. Good hot breakfast available. Good location not too far from the town centre.
Cons: Room far too small & over priced for what it is. Sink in the bedroom. Shower space very small & tight. No telephones! Poor lighting. Not enough ice & no champagne buckets.

Room Tip: Ask for a spacious double room or book a suite. But not sure it's worth the cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielTebbutt, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us at Bailbrook Lodge and for your positive and constructive comments.

Bailbrook Lodge is a listed georgian building and that means inherent building constraints. We have 15 bedrooms, five of which are 4 poster rooms and they are easily double the size of a standard room. That is how Bailbrook Lodge was built and designed all those years ago.

The bedside lamps are 60 watts. This can be increased, as and when guests request it.

We have six champagne buckets and it is very unusual for all six to be out at the same time, my apologies, that we were not able to offer you one at the time. All our white wines and champagne are stored at 3C and are always served chilled.

Once again thank you for your comments and if I may suggest on your next visit you book a 4 poster room you will be throughly surprised at the size and space. All our 4 poster bedded rooms have a view of the garden.

Yours,

Justine Lewis
Manager
Bailbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This establishment comes up on internet searching as a hotel with 4 AA stars - it is not immediately clear that it is, in fact a B&B. The welcome was friendly, the room left much to be desired - electric socket falling off the wall, washbasin in bedroom, separated by door from toilet in bathroom. Stains on bedlinen, stains on splashback, previous occupants, hair in shower. Much limescale evident and shower leaked from pipe joints.
Tea and coffee not replinished, breakfast a curates egg - mine very good but my wife's kippers vitually raw.
Disturbed in middle of night my other residents trying to enter room.
All in all a expensive experience not helped by an internet offer for the same package, considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salterdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielTebbutt, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Bailbrook Lodge. We are a 4 star highly commended Bed & Breakfast not a hotel.

In the event of a last minute cancellation, we will offer the room at a discounted rate on our website. We offer rooms on our website at discounted rates midweek throughout the year when we are quiet, using the same principle as the airlines. It is advisable to check our website for hot deals before booking.

The loose screw on the plug socket in the bedroom has been tightened. Thank you.
Bath is a hard water area, hence the reason we have a water softener system installed and despite this system occasionally the shower heads fuzz up. We have a planned maintenance program for descaling all shower heads periodically.

We use a professional linen hire company who supply our linen and any linen that is not perfect is automatically rejected and I am puzzled as to why the room maid would have prepared the bed with stains on the bed sheet. No excuse for finding a hair in the shower, sloppy on our part, please accept my apology. I have spoken to the room maid in question and I can assure you that it will not happen again.

Our hot food is cooked until the core temperature reaches 75 C. There is no way we would serve undercooked food. Our eggs are free range and occasionally vary in size. We are happy to serve extra eggs, at no extra charge, when requested. We have won an award for our Champagne breakfast.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your welcome on arrival.

Yours,

Justine Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the four poster rooms in August. If you like character, charm and old world elegance then the rooms are fabulous; the wet rooms are on the small side and the wash basin is in the bedroom but we found this no problem. Breakfast was fantastic with a range of choices not just the typical full english or continental, and the dining room setting, overlooking the garden, is perfect. We found the staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of parking available and the hotel is conveniently situated for visits into Bath. We definitely intend to stay at Bailbrook Lodge again which already feels like an old friend rather than a faceless hotel chain.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room with a bath if that is important to you, some rooms are showers only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Hi Thanks to all the staff at Bailbrook Lodge for making our visit a pleasant one. we visited for 2 nights on the 20th of August. the room was clean, complimentary tea coffee water biscuits hotchoc all top up the next day. the breakfast was very good standard staff attentive and helpful advice about taking the bus into bath.also where to eat in the evening.
would recommend this for a short stay in Bath. The building is an old Georgian property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.8 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#15 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.2 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
4.4 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.2 km away
Poplar House
Poplar House
#1 of 2 in Batheaston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.4 km away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Property: Bailbrook Lodge
Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,691 - ₹ 14,237
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing