We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail needed”
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #25 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Attention to detail needed”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

After staying at the Bailbrook lodge on the 8th April, we were very disappointed, we felt the attention to detail was missing, we arrived at the hotel early, and were told our room was ready so we could check in, we were taken to the crossman room, it was very small and pokey, and very much over crowded with small tables and two chairs. The door to the room was difficult to get out of as a chair was in the way, there was also a further chair next to the wash basin which was in the bedroom, which hid the towel rail, which meant when you washed your hands you dripped water all over the chair. There was no soap on the wash basin, so how you were to wash your hands I am not too sure. There was a small table with tea & coffee making things on, the only problem being it was crowded with 2 glasses a bottle of water, a dish with fruit in, which were green and moldy, plus a lamp and mirror. The bathroom door could only be opened slightly as it hit the end of the bed, on entering the bathroom which was very small, we found it to need a good clean, it was very dusty on the skirting boards and you could have written your name on top of the bin, the door near the handle was also very dirty, the shower was very small with a large overhead shower, which would have been fine if you want to wash your hair each time you shower, the cubicle was so small you could not move to one side to avoid it, and I can assure you we are not big people.
On booking my husband had booked a twin room by mistake, I did say joking on check in that he had better not sore all night as I was not getting in and out of bed to nudge him, no worries there the beds were so close you could not have put a piece of paper between them, not a problem for us but a little close for comfort if perhaps you were sharing the room with a friend.
The following morning we went for breakfast, we were asked if we wanted to order a cooked breakfast, so we said 2 full english assuming this was all that was available, we later noticed other guests eating smoked salmon and scrambled eggs etc, it would have been nice to have had a menu on the table. I also felt the baked beans and the sausage were of poor quality.
I would like to mention that the room was nicely decorated and that the bedding was crisp and white, and the bed comfortable, but sorry to say they need to up their game in other areas.

Room Tip: Avoid the Crossman room very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1india, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Bailbrook Lodge. I’m sorry you felt the room was too small. We do have five very large Four Poster rooms all with garden views. May I suggest on your next visit you reserve one of these. There is no excuse for dust and I apologise for that. Our sausages are from the local butcher, they have been in business for 94 years. All sausages are handmade and I can assure you we only purchase the best that money can buy. The baked beans are Heinz. Hopefully you will re-visit Bath and stay with us.

Kind regards

Daniel Tebbutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    167
    60
    27
    17
See reviews for
76
403
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here late March for four days and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. All of the staff were very friendly and efficient. We stayed on top floor, the room wasn't huge but more than adequate. What a pleasure to get biscuits, fresh fruit and free bottled water in the room.....each day!
It was comfortable and clean and well equiped (don't forget this is a B&B).
The breakfasts were equal to, and better than some, 4star hotels we have stay in! Proper table covers with matching linen napkins, loose tea in pots at table (not cheap bags). My personal favourite was the fresh fruit salads every morning (different each day). Plenty of cereals, porridge etc, and of course that lovely full english!!! If that isn't enough....a big bowl of fresh fruit for guests in the foyer!
All in all, a lovely old building run by genuine staff who go out of their way to help or please their guests.
Well done and a big thank you to Rachael and Daniel.
We (Kay & Trevor) will be back to visit Bath again and we look forward to staying at Bailbrook Lodge with you guys again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Excellent four poster room with twin room attached for 5 year old, very spacious and comfortable, the hotel manager Dan was fabulous! Nothing was too much trouble, he was a absolute credit to the company, breakfast was lovely with non cheap products, the whole experience was a perfect break and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden suite is excellent, we normally go out in a evening, the room was so comfortable and having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

A real gem of a place to stay - very easy to access, plenty of parking. A warm welcome to a tastefully furnished and immaculately clean upper class B & B. Room was spotless and lavish and temperature was perfect. Bed was comfy too. Had evening meal and breakfast in the hotel and it was hot homemade and tasty. Excellent service and will definitely return. The owners must be very proud of Dan, their hotel Manager who was polite attentive and knew the answer to every question I had. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: room 24 was fantastic - looks over the garden and Batheaston
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Beautiful surroundings with welcoming and friendly staff.
My visits have been brief but from what I experienced am happy to recommend the place.
I have also enjoyed a number of reflexology and indian head massage sessions with Michelle who is extremely good at her job.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.8 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#15 of 31 in Bath
1,156 reviews
0.2 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.6 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
5.1 km away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
562 reviews
5.4 km away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 157 in Bath
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Property: Bailbrook Lodge
Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,477 - ₹ 13,932
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing