We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,617)
Filter reviews
2,617 results
Traveller rating
1,402
850
259
83
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,402
850
259
83
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brasserie blanc feature room queen square car park lovely hotel superior room afternoon tea central location classic room nespresso machine per night third floor bed was very comfortable royal crescent main attractions within easy walking distance eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 2,617 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Fine hotel with highly efficient staff.
Food was good in restaurant and sensibly priced.
Great location for shopping or exploring Bath.
Good atmosphere.
I travel a lot home and abroad and this hotel has a number of good qualities for a relatively small establishment.
It comes with a high price tag which i think is justified for a treat at least.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Garry S
Thanks for posting a Trip Advisor review!.
I'm really pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and you found the hotels facilities to your satisfaction.
I completely agree. The Francis is perfectly positioned for exploring the beautiful city of Bath.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Minos Psarakis
Interim Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Fantastic location , excellent helpful staff, well appointed room with a shower which was not in the Bath an added benefit. Everywhere is within walking distance. Considering the is in a very old set of buildings the restoration has been excellent amongst the best hotels of its type in the UK.

Room Tip: Ask for a rroom with a separate shower to avoid having to hurdle the bath.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 654AndyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear 654AndyG
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent trip to Bath. It was a pleasure to read your review and i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Francis.
Thank you too for your kind words about our staff.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Minos Psarakis
Interim Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The hotel is very easy to access from the M4 and although there are double yellows outside it seems ok to off load your bags directly outside. The hotel will park your car (if there are spaces £15 a night). The rooms are spacious and quaint, the hotel is very close to the sights and shopping of the centre of Bath. Just a few minutes and your right there. The staff are friendly and not pushy. I would return for sur albeit a tad expensive

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Ter F,

Thank you for your wonderful review.


I will pass your kind comments to the team, we are very proud of them.

We are very lucky with our position within the city, making it very easy to get our and explore this wonderful city.

During your stay our rates are at there peak, we would love to welcome you back and I recommend January, February, March and early November for our best rates.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Minos Psarakis
Rooms Division Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

This is an historic hotel, which means that unfortunately they cannot replace their windows with double pane windows and the floors creak. We arrived from Heathrow jet lagged and tired. They got us a room near the back, but also near the staircase. As we tried to rest it sounded like a herd of wilderbeasts stampeding through the hotel. Finally we gave up trying to rest and went out for a walk.

we moved rooms to one near the front. Unfortunately we were not warned that the front is a very busy street at night - including many motorcyles and the windows are thin. We started using ear plugs and playing "white noise" on my ipad and two iphones to sleep. Then, of course, the floors creaked because it was an historic hotel. Not good for sleep.

Perhaps had we been given a room in the back, on the top floor and away from the staircase, we would have had a better chance.

Breakfast was pretty bad. Watery scrambled eggs and a limited selection of pastries and cheeses. The coffee was so thick and muddy that I started to drink tea. Dinners were much better.

Staff was helpful in showing were everything was located on the map and Bath is a wonderful city to visit and to just stroll in and around. People are friendly and the Georgian architecture is phenominal, as are the Roman Baths. We just wish the hotel had been a bit quieter.

Room Tip: See if you can reserve a room on the top floor facing the back.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ijloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear ijloewy,

Thank you for your review.

I am so happy to hear you found the staff so helpful, I will pass your kind words to them.

I am disappoint to read you have not slept well whilst staying with us, due to being a listed building we are restricted in what we are able to change, I will speak with the reception team as they should have warned you about the front of the hotel being nosier due to the road, as you had requested to move because of the noise. There will be further training with team to make sure this does not reoccur

We have passed your comments to the Brasserie Blanc in reference to the coffee so they are able to rectify this.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to our lovely city.

Kind regards
Minos Psarakis
Rooms Division Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Beautifully decorated hotel and well apportioned rooms.
Situated in centre of Bath
Downside- limited car parking so you have to park your car in a City Car park wherever there is a space.
Service at front reception desk was very attentive.
Bar service was very vey slow .
Overall great location and Hotel, just needs to improve Bar service.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank JJJG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear JJJG2013,

Thank you for lovely review.

We are very proud of our front office team and I will pass your kind words to them.

I have spoken with the Brasserie Blanc in regards to the service in the bar and we are working with them to improve the service speed.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Minos Psarakis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews