We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
SACO Bath - St James Parade(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
US$ 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 291
US$ 276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
US$ 132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 259
US$ 170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 212
US$ 201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 162
US$ 147
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 105
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 218
US$ 202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,465)
Filter reviews
2,465 results
Traveller rating
1,304
811
249
79
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,304
811
249
79
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelsuperior roomafternoon teacentral locationclassic roomnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distancestayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 2,465 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Beautifully decorated hotel and well apportioned rooms.
Situated in centre of Bath
Downside- limited car parking so you have to park your car in a City Car park wherever there is a space.
Service at front reception desk was very attentive.
Bar service was very vey slow .
Overall great location and Hotel, just needs to improve Bar service.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank JJJG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear JJJG2013,

Thank you for lovely review.

We are very proud of our front office team and I will pass your kind words to them.

I have spoken with the Brasserie Blanc in regards to the service in the bar and we are working with them to improve the service speed.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Minos Psarakis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We stayed for one night. Upon check in, we were curtly advised that we'd need to be out of the car park by 12pm the following day.
The housekeeping wasn't good. The carpet in our feature room was covered in fluff and hair, the so called luxury toiletries had already been used, The walls were scuffed and chipped, the carpet leading in to the bathroom was torn and protruding, causing my four year old to trip and hurt herself. The previous occupants breakfast order form was left in the room.
We were woken at 6.30am by somebody playing very loud music from another room. Breakfast was very basic, once we'd made our own toast, and almost finished breakfast, we were presented with a menu offering cooked breakfast choices and an apology that the waitress had forgotten to let us know.
The hotel looked generally scruffy and more like 3 stars at most. When asked at check out if everything was ok, the receptionist didn't seem interested in hearing the details as new guests were checking in. Overall, we were left feeling disappointed, and expected a lot more after seeing the website photos.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mimi210473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear mimi210473,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to see you found your stay disappointing, we are normally throughout the year able to offer a extension on the parking, however during the Christmas markets in Bath we do have restrict the parking to the check out time, and I am sorry this came across a being said curtly, we do try to advise guests when checking in so they are able to plan around this.

The Head Housekeeper has been informed in reference to the state of the floor and the toiletries and I have asked her to make sure the carpets and toiletries are checked in detail on the room checks. She has asked me to associate her apologies.

Would I be able to ask you to email me with the room number you stayed so we are able to have a look at the walls and the carpet, my email is h6636-gm@accor.com.

We have passed your comments in regards to the breakfast the Brasserie Blanc team and have spoken with them about making sure the menus are on the table when you are seated, thank you for bring this to our attention.

The reception team send there apologies that it came across that they were un-interested when talking with you in regards to the concerns you had, we pride ourselves on our customer service and it does seem we missed the mark on this occasion, we welcome all feedback.

kind regards
Minos Psarakis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

An excellent meal in delightful surroundings, the staff polite and efficient, the food delicious, with a good range of choice from two lunchtime menus. Needless to say good range of wines and other beverages, a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Anthony P,

Thank you for your lovely review, we have passed your kind words to the Brasserie Blanc Team.

Kind regards
Minos Psarakis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

This hotel, converted from 8 Georgian houses in a beautiful square near to the centre of Bath, is a Sofitel hotel and so we expected much from it. It is not cheap. Our experience was disappointing. The room we were allocated (as part of a group holiday) was small and dark and looked out over a roof with an extractor on it. As mentioned in other reviews, the lighting is totally inadequate and does not allow one to see into the wardrobe, which is made smaller by storing an ironing board inside it. The beds (2 singles) were so old and soft that they literally bent up at each end, so that the mattress was off the base at both ends. The floor looked as though it had not been vacuumed. I could not sleep, from a combination of light coming from the corridor under the door, and a loud roaring and churning noise from the corridor (from air conditioner or CH?)
We asked to change rooms and were given a much larger room and much better bed. However, the state of the floor was similar, and the corridors, which are uneven, were even worse. I complained about the floor and was told that the maid would deal with it. On returning to the room later that day we could see the floor had been vacuumed but fluff and threads still remained. Can only conclude that the clapped out old Henry vacuum that the poor maids were using needs to be replaced by something adequate for the job.
On the positive side, the staff were polite and responsive. The Blanc's brasserie within the hotel dealt very well with extremely busy breakfast scenarios, and the breakfast food was OK, with good coffee. The two meals we had there were excellent.
I would like to quote the text of a piece of marketing placed in the room on a special cardboard 'stand':
'MGallery by Sofitel (what is this 'by' nonsense?)
Inspired by her
The MGallery Brand celebrates women, making them feel welcome in a whole new way...
Enjoy a number of little extras, travel light or give in to wholesome temptation.'
Absolutely no clue given as to how this is to be achieved and as far as I could see, no extras were available other than those you would expect from a top class hotel. Finally, the 'library' mentioned in the hotel guest information book (which looks as if it was inherited from a previous regime and not updated) turned out to be a few books in one of the public spaces and a bookcase tucked away in another area out of sight.
So, altogether, Francis Hotel, you could and should do better!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 301!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Jenny D,

Thank you for your review and I am disappointed to read your stay was not as perfect as we try to make all stays.

Could I please ask you to send me an email to h6636-gm@accor.com with the original room number so we are able to inspect the bed in that room and have it replaced. I am glad to see we able to offer you a upgraded room.

I am glad to report we are currently in the process of changing all the lights in the hotel to LED meaning our rooms are now going to be much brighter, i am sorry this had not been completed before your stay.

The Head Housekeeper has been informed in reference to the state of the floor and I have asked her to make sure the carpets are checked in detail on the room checks. She has asked me to associate her apologies.

We have passed your kind comments in reference to the food to the Brasserie Blanc team.

Kind regards
Minos Psarakis
Rooms Division Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews