We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Place for a Family Get-Together”

Review of The Wilderness

The Wilderness near Bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wilderness near Bath
The Inglenook Lounge Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
The Wilderness near Bath
The Inglenook Lounge
Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
TV Lounge
Dining room seats 18
Family bedroom sleeps 4!
The Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Lounge
Catered dinner parties...
The lovely private rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grumpy_To...
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Family Get-Together”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have recently returned from spending a super week at the Wilderness. It was a three generation family get-together. There was plenty of space for us all. The kitchen was really well equiped with plenty of pans, plates and mugs and TWO kettles (important at breakfast and tea time!) so it was easy to cater for 15 adults and three little ones.
Jo and John were very welcoming and extremely helpful, both in setting up our accomodation to suit us (cots, high chairs and sleeping arrangements) and with dealing with an issue that arose during our stay. Brilliant people and I would thoroughly recommend the Wilderness for similar events.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezza1982
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a great weekend organised a hen which everyone loved closed to everything. It was so clean and tidy when arrived.
The communication between owner and myself was excellent she tended to every need.
Plenty of space in cottage for everyone will definitely be coming back.
Thanks again for a lovely weekend away in your cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward J
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic family stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at The Wilderness for half term week to celebrate my mother in law's 60th birthday and found the accommodation to be absolutely fantastic. Plenty of space for such a large group (18 in all) of us and good outdoor space for the kids to enjoy themselves also.

Would definitely use again, and wouldn't hesitate to give the highest recommendation if asked!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie_Wol...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, clean, well-decorated and cosy house with everything thought of for you.”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Excellent for Hen Parties. Taxis can be pre booked on 07927 730629 from Westbury station for £8 each way. Lots of parking. Rooms comfortable, bathrooms clean, kitchen equipment plentiful and matching, lots of little details (night-lights, wood for the wood burner) thought of. Towels and bedding fine - but don't forget the loo rolls for the many loos! Neither living room sat the whole party but most of us got a sofa spot in the larger living room, which was great for playing games as we could all join in and hear each other. The dining table sat everyone comfortably and made a great place for a dinner party. Management cleaned thoroughly enough between stays to find my jeans squished under the bed, which is a good sign - and then posted them back to me once I realised free of charge. I'm sure they'd rather not do that every time, but very good service when needed.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoecs2015
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for our Engagement Party - excellent accommodation for large groups!”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Wilderness for our engagement do and we would highly recommend this accommodation to large groups. It was a lovely setting for our special event and for catching up with old friends.

The kitchen is equipped really well for large numbers and we made full use of this to cook a fabulous breakfast, evening meal and afternoon tea, all for 18 people :) It's got everything you'd need to cook great food for large groups.

Everyone was impressed with the standard of the accommodation for the price we paid, and for a winter retreat it really was excellent value. The beds are comfy and the rooms are furnished to a high standard, with plenty of spare bedding to make it really cosy.

Jo was very accommodating and responded to communication from us quickly, with a friendly, genuine and welcoming attitude, which was so much appreciated.

We are keen to come back in the summer as we would love to stay again and make use of the gorgeous garden. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this accommodation - we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing