We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed ambitions”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Brooks guest house is located just a short walk from Bath city centre and the Regency crescent. We got a double room on the top floor, which was okay but had only one bed-side table and lamp. The lounge is nice and the basement breakfast room is nicely decorated and with an eclectic mix of old and modern designed furniture. It is clear that much thought has gone in to getting the ambience right, however sometimes slips when it comes to the service provided.
Breakfast options sounds tempting on the menu, but my scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was just a sad mess. Scrambled eggs with truffles had no truffles. The toast was brown pre-sliced bread of the cheapest variety. And so on. We travelled for two weeks in England on our holidays, and Brooks was the most expensive place we stayed in. And, I am sorry to say, the most disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thank you for staying at Brooks glad you liked your room and the decor sorry you thought it was expensive we charge £89 for a double room B&B weekdays and £119 per room at the weekend and we have not changed the rates for 2years . Bath is expensive after London it is the most expensive city but we are £20 under the average room rate . Our chef Lucas is on holiday but you still should have got a fantastic breakfast I will speak to our team. , Best to send back food you are not happy with as that way the chef can re- make it until its perfect . we want customers to love their breakfast , apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 707 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

Queen Square in Bath is about 10 minutes walk from Brooks so it's a very good location for exploring. We discovered Victoria Park and the Royal Crescent were both much closer and that it's a relaxing route into the centre that way. Ben was welcoming on arrival and was very ready to answer any questions, as was Carla. We thought that rooms facing the main road might be noisy but in fact traffic seemed fairly light until 'rush hour' in the morning and the noise wasn't intrusive. The whole place has had a lot of thought put into decor and furnishings. Quite bold, bright and distinctive. We had a king bed: very comfortable. The curtains were huge, took effort to close and must have helped build up muscles! The bathroom was well equipped but the highlight was a good powerful shower. There's free wifi and there's a lounge where there's free Internet access if you haven't brought your own ipad etc. The comments book confirmed the good experiences. about Brooks written about on trip advisor. We'd say that the breakfast was a highlight. Can
recommend the eggs Benedict and am told the scrambled eggs with truffle oil were also good.
Lucas is the chef and definitely knows his stuff. Seems to be Brooks approach to be a bit
different and the whole team made the visit not just a place to stay but an excellent and memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms will be different. The staff were very happy to describe them when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalot053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Thank you for providing exellent accommodation for my stay in bath. Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely, guesthouse facilities were excellent and the location was conveniently close to city centre.

Room Tip: Certain rooms have a patio balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A visit to Bath with 2 days full of sight seeing would not have been complete without a good place to stay in.

Brooks Guest House was just it...a few minutes walk from the Royal Crescent with comfortable accomodation and a nice pub down the lane to unwind and rest after the hectic day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anushkaguha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I recently stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was delightful, the only one with a balcony.The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was decorated very stylishly. Ben who was manning reception couldn't have been more helpful. He brought us a fan, and an ice bucket, and we really felt that nothing was too much trouble. There was an honesty bar downstairs which was a refreshing change to see that people are still trustworthy these days! Breakfast was very nice, the eggs benedict was delicious. My only real critisicm of the guest house, is where it is situated. It is a short walk from the centre of Bath, but on a main road which at times was quite noisy when busy with traffic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.3 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 km away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
239 reviews
1.8 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
819 reviews
1.2 km away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#36 of 155 in Bath
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: ₹ 6,354 - ₹ 12,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing