We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
80
102
81
79
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
102
81
79
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre up hill english breakfast weekend break conservatory
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I made a basic error in booking this hotel. I did not now that they only allow you to book 2 night minimum stay at the weekend. We had to change plans but they wouldn't refund us the night we couldn't stay. He did see if he could upgrade but they were full.Check in was quick . Our room was tiny. Couldn't believe the price of it. Yes it was room 6. So again needed to read all the review's before booking. Bed squashed against the wall. There was a small vanity unit and chair couldn't comfortably watch tv from it. Colour scheme wasn't too bad. Bathroom cold and cramped. Towels tired and scratchy. Room was cold in the morning. Thin walls. Parking was free and fine if you don't want to get in and out very often. Redeeming feature was a nice breakfast . I couldn't hand on heart recommend this hotel even though the gentleman at the reception said he would give us a good rate next time we stayed. Sorry we won't be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Screwloose2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The room wasn’t too bad,but the bathroom was tiny,the toilet seat was stained yellow and you had your knees under the sink when sat on the loo! We went out for the day and when we return our room hadn’t been cleaned which is the norm in hotels, the bed which we made hadn’t been tidied (it was also the most uncomfortable bed we have ever been in) they hadn’t replenished the coffee milk etc. And the bin was still full. My husband at breakfast the second morning had reheated sausages (yuk) this hotel was rated 4 star which is a joke,it should have a visit from the hotel inspector. We have stayed in far better 3 star hotels and will not be recommending this place to anyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank robertbrown56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights (booked through Expedia) as a base from which to explore Bath, Stonehenge, Avebury and Salisbury Cathedral (with hire car) and would definitely stay here again. Arrival and check-in was smooth - no problems parking before check-in in the morning (free parking off street, luggage was safe in the car), using the day to sight-see, and getting our room later in the afternoon. The building is older so expect narrow, steepish steps inside to reach each level (no elevators), and a vintage ambience in the main areas (our room was quite modern in decor).

We booked a standard double room (very economically priced in comparison to many other Bath accommodation options) and it was on the lower level, with windows out towards the bottom of the driveway and outdoor sitting area. This made it easy to park down there and bring luggage in through the back door (a few less steps to wrangle!). Our room was lovely, TV/internet access all worked well, facilities fine, toiletries/tea/coffee/hot choc all supplied (no refrigerator, which was common at all our accom in England/Wales). If you are really fussy about your mattresses, it may be too soft or cushiony for you, but I had no issues.

Breakfast was fabulous, plenty of self serve cereal, toast, yoghurt, tea, coffee and muffins, and a menu of hot options made to order when you were ready including bacon, sausage, eggs whichever way you wanted, tomato, black pudding, baked beans and mushrooms (I highly recommend the black pudding!). The breakfast room was lovely and sun lit, and we spotted the occasional squirrel running across the back yard (being Aussie tourists, it was a treat for us!), and while we didn't make use of the adjoining room with lounge/bar, it looked cozy and seemed well patronised by other guests in the evening.

Our host Danny was always helpful for general questions or special requests, eg. we put together a tray of muffins etc for am early brekky ahead of our early starting big day out to Avebury etc. Finally, it is in close proximity to a Co-op and Tescos, and a Carphone Warehouse was on the way of the nice downhill walk to Bath city centre, which was great for an arriving tourist needing a sim card. We walked up hill at the end of the day and even thinking we were fit, we found it a challenge, so maybe get bus info from Danny to save yourself the slog, especially if its hot, or raining. One last thing - the pool was closed due to the time of year, so check its availability if that's important to you.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lissel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed at this guest house (hotel) with my partner.
The place is reasonably tidy and clean but whatever you do, make sure you don't get put in room 6 as it has to be the tiniest room ever. It was maybe big enough before it was made
en-suite but it certainly isn't now, in fact I've stayed in places were the bathroom was bigger than this room. The wardrobe is tiny and the bed squeaks with every movement.
I hope that when you visit it is in warm weather as on both nights we were there the central heating was turned of at night so you woke in a freezing cold room. The hot water took an age to come through ( even though we were only on the 1st floor) and the shower was not even a power version.
Another problem was the so called freeview channels on the tv that didn't seem to work late at night. All that came on the tv was, No Signal. I can't think why there was no signal!!!!
The breakfast was very nice and there was plenty of choice. The downsides were that when you had finished your cereal and the cooked food arrived, the cereal dishes were left on the table instead of being cleared away to make more space on the table.
Another strange thing was the fact that the hot water for tea, and the coffee, were in large thermos flasks on the table with the cereals. This meant you had to take your cup and teaspoon with you to get a drink. Everywhere else we have stayed the tea and coffee was brought to the table in a tea pot or cafetiere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

we booked through booking.com wanting a one night stay within walking distance of the city. the Wentworth was about 15 minutes walk from town - there is a steep walk back.

our stay was enjoyable - we got made up to a 4 poster (don't think too many were staying that weekend - we'd been at a family do in the west country but the weather hasn't been good for casual city breaks). The owner Danny was welcoming and helpful, we traded opinions on star trek next generation of which he was a keen fan. the room was well proportioned, wifi worked well, and we headed into town for evening meal. next morning the breakfast room was delightful, and breakfast was very good, lots of self service choice for cold and a nice hot traditional cooked breakfast. They have a heated outdoor pool and so my wife said we'll have to come back in the summer! they also kindly let us leave the car after we'd checked out so we could make the most of the departure day time in Bath. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews