We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #153 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Lovely hotel.Room clean and comfortable,food excellent,staff superb,friendly-nothing too much trouble.Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 281 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

A very lovely Georgian building. We enjoyed the stay, we found that the staff were very freindly and welcoming. Our room had just been refurbished so it was very clean and well appointed. The walk into Bath was quite hilly but with the directions given to us by Wentworth House it was very easy. A nice little shopping strip near by. The room was good size on the 2nd floor and had good view of Bath.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We recently stayed at Wentworth House b&b, staff & atmosphere fantastic.
It is ideally situated for easy access to bath centre, with free car parking on site, which so few places have in Bath.
The house was clean, and very friendly staff.
We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast, which was all included in the cost.
I would recommend & return hopefully very soon, .
Agnes & Mark

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agnesmagnes89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked a superior room with a four poster bed for our two night stay for which we were charged £180 (April 2012). Half the cost was taken by the hotel immediately upon booking and we were relieved of the remainder the moment we walked through the door! The room was small and in the basement, down a very narrow flight of stairs and appeared to be near a service entrance. The corridor frequently stank of cigarette smoke. The view from our room was a brick wall. The room was clean when we arrived but even though we left a sign asking for the room to be made up after our 1st night, this was ignored and the room was not cleaned, bed was not made and the coffee/tea was not replenished. When I eventually found a member of staff (no bell at 'reception') they were apologetic and eventually arrived with coffee replenishments. Breakfast was tasty and service efficient. The central heating had evidently been turned off throughout the hotel presumably for reasons of economy and on our second and last night in the hotel we woke up several times feeling very cold. The bed linen would have been suitable for Spain in mid-summer, certainly not a chilly English Spring. For the price charged perhaps the proprietors could run to the provision of additional bed linen in the room. Rather shabby look to the entrance which does not give a good impression when you arrive. Really think that the owners need to revise their business strategy if they wish to remain in business.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheriH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Wentworth used to be a lovely Georgian home but has not had updating or maintenance, it seems, in decades. Worn carpeting, walls badly need painting, bathroom fixtures are worn out, beds are worn & uncomfortable, and so on. Our room was small, which was to be expected, but everything in it was so old and worn out including all the bathroom fixtures, the beds, the lamps, and so on. It didn't help that we were put in the basement and we couldn't open a window at night as the window was right at street level where anyone could just bend over and look in if they chose, so it didn't feel very safe.

The staff is friendly enough when you run into them. The breakfast, however, was inedible... and I'm not a picky eater at all. The location is walking distance to Bath if you're very fit as the Wentworth is up a big hill.

I would only recommend this to people who really want to save money as the cost was lower than the hotels in town.

Room Tip: We were put in a basement room... definitely do NOT do that. Maybe the upper rooms are better, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
4.1 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 159 in Bath
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
2.9 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
827 reviews
0.8 km away
Glenade
Glenade
#56 of 159 in Bath
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: ₹ 5,574 - ₹ 10,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing