We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but not sure it's 5 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not sure it's 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Enjoyed our one night stay at Bath Spa. Hotel is in a good location just a 15 minute walk into the centre. Staff were friendly and attentive. Spa was great. Room was comfortable but not 5 star. Unfortunately the walls were thin as previous reviewers have pointed out so we could hear the people next door. Having read previous reviews about poor value in the restaurant, we decided to eat elsewhere and found a lovely Moroccan restaurant in the centre. Overall we would recommend the hotel if you can find a good deal on the room rate. Not sure it was worth what we paid for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for one without an adjoining door as this may mean better soundproofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleurmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    1,200
    653
    307
    149
See reviews for
577
2,657
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed 1 night as the finale of a car tour of the SW with a group of around 20. On arrival the building is very impressive. The main car park is quite a hike from the reception - you can use their valet parking service (at a price) or drop bags off at the reception before you park if you prefer.

We have stayed around the world at many 4 and 5 star establishments - this has some of the usual 5 star trappings - flunkies to open the door for you, shiny brass trolleys to take your luggage to your room etc. And the exorbitant bar prices were definitely 5 star!

Bedroom adequate - however the rather tired fixtures and furniture (stained carpet, fraying armchair, bathroom grouting in need of bleach) was not 5 star. Nor was the buffet breakfast - at this level one expects hot food cooked to order.

Our dinner was average - and portions somewhat stingy. Three plates of grilled goats cheese starter on our table had to be sent back to get the promised cranberry sauce garnish - and came back having apparently been barely warmed by a blow-torch, rather than properly grilled to be bubbling and appetizing. "Chef Michel" would not have let them off the "pass"!

I would only return if a very preferential deal was on offer - if you want a true 5 star experience try elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodLifeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Again a very nice stay. Recommended. Staff are very friendly, professional & very helpful. Not the budget option but worth it. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stimpyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I booked a WeightWatchers Magazine Spa Day including light lunch and a 30 min treatment. The Spa area was good, but I have a few points to make.

1. Only 1 locked changing cubicle, the rest of the changing room is open plan. A few more for those of us who prefer privacy would be a good idea.

2. There is a old school type drinking fountain in changing room. However, I needed the water to take tablets and there are no cups provided. You can only imagine the nightmare that was to swallow the tablets and slurp from a fountain at the same time!

3. There is no water cooler dispenser or complimentary tea in the Spa Reception, just a bowl of highly polished apples! Not sure if for decoration or eating purposes.

3. Relaxation Room which you are taken to after a Spa Treatment has herbal/fruit teas, but no breakfast tea, which would have been a nice touch, for those of us who prefer real tea.

4. Lunch in Al Fresco dining area was lovely... organic salmon, followed by chocolate brownie! Livio the Lunch Manager was great, attentive and welcoming.

5. Stopped for tea and scone afterwards, and nearly had a heart attack at the prices. £4.50 for pot of tea and £4.50 for 1 scone with cream and jam. Lovely, but over-priced I think.

Lovely day after saying all that, but only on a discounted special offer price I think.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaValentine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary with a 2 night stay at this hotel in July. We live in Bedfordshire and were travelling down to Cornwall and decided to stop off in Bath as my husband has always wanted to visit.
We reviewed the hotel online and yes, it's not cheap but it's a 5* hotel and I don't know any that are......
Upon approach the hotel looks magnificent. We arrived slightly early and our room wasn't ready but rather than wait we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. This was a lovely touch - I know it cannot happen every time for everybody but when it does it's fantastic.
Our suite was beautifully fashioned in a lovely contemporary style inkeeping with the hotel and grounds. Wonderfully comfortable and spacious.
We didn't make use of the spa facilities as we wanted to explore the city, however we did have a look around and I decided that I would be bringing my daughter back here for an 'after exams' treat as the pampering facilities looked superb.
Breakfast was delightful with ample choice and excellent service in a lovely airy room with views onto the back gardens.
we ordered room service on our first night as we were worn out after travelling and then walking around the city - delicious food that was served hot and within about 20 minutes of ordering.
If people complain that this is too expensive then I believe they need to compare it to other 5* star hotels and justify their comments. Regardless of our room upgrade I cannot fault this hotel and will definitely be returning.
Tip: We dined at The Olive Tree but wished we had taken evening meal here instead. The Olive Tree was extremely dissappointing with bad service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowen_WilliamsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.5 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
2.7 km away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,027 - ₹ 29,617
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing