We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where business turned to pleasure”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where business turned to pleasure”
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed just up the road 2 years ago in a real dive hotel on holiday, so was a little apprehensive about staying here. But Dukes was lovely; quiet, very cosy, all the staff i met were lovely (especially Mike, who made me fee l like the Duke himself!). Free wi-fi, nice tea/coffee Delicious breakfast. So nice, i'm going to return with wifelet (+/- kids - not sure yet, it's also a very romantic hotel!) later this year. And obviously, Bath is just such an amazing place.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank slimyslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    190
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
177
812
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We arrived in Bath looking forward to a lovely stay but my partner needed the use of wi-fi internet which was promised in their room description but was 'down' a the time, with an unknown fix date. The front desk was fairly helpful but dismissive of the issue of the wifi and in the end went to get the general manager.

When the general manager came in, she didn't introduce herself, walked straight past us and concerned herself with a phone call she was already on. I immediately thought this alone was very rude. Once she had finished on the call, she spoke to us in a curt and short manner. She had still to introduce herself and apologise or explain the problem. She then went on ranting about the fact that wifi is not guaranteed etc etc and that we were welcome to go and stay elsewhere. (She wasn't interested in apologizing or making amends).

I couldn't believe the tone she was taking whilst talking to my partner and she clearly had come into reception with an agenda, which was now playing out. In the end I had to ask who she actually thought she was speaking to (I had only said good morning at this point), such was her rudeness and approach. She even had the gall to accuse US of being rude when making direct and firm enquiries as to the need for the wifi.

In such a service intense world that we live in I could not believe;

a: such an important factor as wifi was not a priority for any hotel let alone one that charges such premium rates. Especially when they had guests staying who had specifically requested a working wifi during booking. Surely a note should be made on the booking forms etc. (WIFI is important and 'access' to a public computer is not good enough)

b: When such a matter arises as above then someone should be on top of it. They didn't have a clue when it was due back up, and hadn't a clue that it was of such importance to a, soon to arrive, guest.

c: That such a person as the general manager has managed to keep her job in such a competition intense environment. She failed to meet the needs of the consumer, she failed to provide the basic 101 customer service that should be expected of a general manager. She was amazingly rude. I will not publish her name, but will be writing to her superiors.

Other than that the inside of the hotel looked lovely, but I can only comment on the reception area which is a real shame. I would have like to have stayed at the hotel and can't believe in such austere times that people are so happy to lose business. Most people would bend over backwards to try to address the situation or at least find out and explain the issue. Such a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank 28PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Excellent hotel in a great location. Staff were very friendly. We stayed in a double room on top floor, lots of stairs but nice and quiet up there. Must say the english breakfast was amazing, one of the best i've had.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicsmoxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We arrived at the hotel on bank holiday Friday and were welcomed by a very friendly gentleman at reception who very kindly upgraded our room.

Our room was gorgeous, big, light and airy.

The location is great, less than 10 minutes in to the centre of town - would recommend this hotel.

Thermae spa was lovely but I would advise taking your own towel so you have a nice dry, warm towel for after you have been in the swimming pools and steam rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollercoaster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

we have stayed at this hotel for many years now and we are never disappointed. the rooms are very spacious with very comfortable beds lovely bathrooms with powerful showers. you are offered a very wide choice of options for breakfast and the staff are always very helpful and attentive. We just leave our car and walk everywhere while we are there as everything is only a picturesque ten minutes away.
we always look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceful3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.0 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.7 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 km away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.8 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,591 - ₹ 14,339
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing