We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...Helpful staff...”
Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location...Helpful staff...”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Halcyon was only a 2 minute stroll from the train station and offers easy walking distance to most of Bath's attractions. First impressions were good, the reception staff in particular were extremely friendly and helpful...offering recommendations to restaurants and museums. (These turned out to be very valuable). We booked at the last minute and were advised of one double left which offered no view but was described as a nice spacious room. It turned out to be a twin with the beds together but this didn't bother us too much. The room itself was fine, with adequate space for a weekend trip. The vanity area was a little dark due to the wardrobe hanging area being part of the design.
The only negative point with regards the room would be the bathroom was looking tired. Many of the floor tiles were cracked and it was in need of a good 'deep clean'.
However, the bedroom was clean and tidy and well serviced in our absence.
There was a well stocked tea/coffee shelf offering wine and nibbles.
The breakfast was as described with a nice selection of breads and fruit, fresh coffee and an egg broiler. The breakfast area was a relaxed setting and was situated in the cocktail lounge. It did have a feeling of 'the morning after the night before' as the seating area was a little sticky...
Overall, our hotel stay offered adequate weekend accommodation, with friendly, helpful staff but the hotel needs some TLC

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weregoingtovegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
654
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was my 1st time to Bath and the hotel was in a perfect location, within easy walking distance to the shops, spa's and restaurants.
It was nice to sit outside in the nice weather- enjoying a glass of wine or two!!!
The hotel itself was nice and clean, we had the downstairs room which was very compact with a small kitchen in a cupboard!!!! The only downside was the room was too warm and we had to keep putting the fan on to cool down!!! Bathroom facilities were spot on, apart from the shower leaking a little
Food was brill, especially for the cocktail master class that Hector organised!
Would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Staff were very friendly and very helpful.

But.

Paid for the classic plus room at £158 per night for a 2 night stay. First room we were shown to was G.3. We were very underwhelmed as the hotel's website boasted about its quality. It was small and dull as it looked out at some dirty walls and a yard. Stains on the carpet and curtains. The bathroom itself was very good but was a 'box' inside a tall room that was linked to the main room. Above the bathroom was a high ceiling with flaking plaster and stains. Obviously the room wasn't finished (so why use it or charge the full price?). There was a wardrobe of which only one door could be opened because the bedside table was butted up against it. It was a small room and we were unhappy enough to ask to be moved. We were. Room G.1. Much better untill we noticed that the bathroom door wouldn't shut as the latch was wedged in. The double bed is just two single matresses pushed togther which isn't very nice sleeping in a bed with a trench running down the middle. The room was extremly warm - we stayed in july - and there is only a crappy and wobbly fan to help you out. The heavy, possibly feather duvet didn't help the temperature problem either. The room's windows are directly above the cocktail bar entrance so it's a toss up between the heat or the noise. The widows were difficult to open due to the secondary glazing. i.e. the secondary glazing wouldn't stay up making it hard to open the sash windows which were higher up behind the secondary glazing. It was awkard basicaly. Either way I had a near sleepless night. Also, do the staff really need to rearrange the tables and chairs outside the bar at 2.30am? There was a plug-in heater in the room which looked as though it had been dropped down the stairs - which if it had been it must have been a long time ago because it was thick with dust. 3 jars of sweets in the room @ £2.50 each. 1 of our jars was nearly empty with only 3 gummy bears at the bottom. We didn't want to eat them but we thought it just shows a lack of attention to detail.

Really unhappy with our stay over all. Friends of ours stayed in room 1.1 which is directly above G.3 (our first room) and was perfectly fine. Bigger than G.3 and the bathroom was fitted into the room completely and was obviously a finished room which shows that room G.3 isn't and therefor shouldn't be charged at £158 a night!

All 3 rooms lacked places to hang coats and only had 6 coat hangers between 2 people. A few hooks on the back of a door would have been helpfull. As would air-con. And somewhere to put tooth brushes (A spare glass maybe?).

Breakfast was good but there was no option of a cooked breakfast which I would expect for the money.

If you decide to stay here just make sure you don't stay on the ground floor as you will be wasting your money as we did.

Room Tip: As long as you're not put on the ground floor you might be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiim30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was my 2nd trip to Bath but this time on a girls weekend and the organiser chose this hotel on a recommendation and what a brilliant find it was! Only 3mins walk from the station and 5mins walk from the town centre, The Halcyon Hotel is perfectly located! On arrival there was a DJ playing funky but soulful tunes giving a relaxing yet cool ambience.

The staff were excellent all weekend - nothing was too much trouble and the hotel was clean and tidy. The rooms had everything that you could want or need and the room rate came with a continental breakfast.

Despite having a high class nightclub downstairs, you couldn't hear any noise (but maybe I was too tipsy or having too much of a good time to notice) but if I stayed there again then I'd specifically ask not o be allocated the room behind reception because it was literally 'behind the reception desk' and the room was very small (in comparison to the other girl's rooms that they had).

Great hotel for couples, groups and even families.

High recommendation *****

Room Tip: Don't get the room behind the reception desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnBKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The location of The Halcyon in Bath is excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Perhaps I was disappointed that the travel book that recommended this hotel had stated that The Halcyon had air conditioning, which it does not, unless you consider a room fan air conditioning! Or perhaps it was the room, small and somewhat stark...and I don't mean Philippe Starck. They offered me another room on the front but it was actually smaller than the rear room. As an American accustomed to large rooms, I was disappointed in The Halcyon but the location, staff and price were very good so I can understand why many people give this hotel four and five stars. Different strokes for different folks!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephpalermino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.8 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 2/3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,295
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing