We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, low price, fantastic welcome and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, low price, fantastic welcome and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Halcyon is a lovely, fair priced central hotel in the beautiful city of Bath. The staff are extremely accommodating and helpful, the food excellent, rooms pleasant and all within walking distance of the wonderful attractions of Bath.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Halcyon is conveniently located - close to both the train station and the town centre.

Our room was smallish but pleasant, though it faced the street and we heard quite a lot of noise from partygoers.

Our best experience was talking to the receptionist, Anna. She was very friendly and welcoming, and recommended so many things to do in Bath, as well as two restaurants that were amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

highly recommend the Halcyon for a few nights in Bath. Great location, a few minutes walk from station one way and city center the other. Staff could not have been more helpful. Continental breakfast was nice, as was our room. Would definitely go back to the Halcyon.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front, overlooking park and church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emt15b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

From Dallas, TX: I can't share enough praises about this hotel!!! On a whim, my boyfriend and I decided to take a two-day side trip from London to see the Cotswolds and decided to stay in Bath for the evening. The hotel is superbly located and the staff is truly amazing! They managed to secure their last available room at a great rate. They also provided us additional assistance with targeting the most "have to see" Cotswold villages before we had to depart back to London. All rates also include a fabulous extensive breakfast!! Hotel Manager, Hector Main was most hospitable by even calling as a courtesy to establish a room for the next evening for us.

If you are looking for a great location, great staff and just overall perfect hotel on your travels, this is THE hotel to choose. Many sincere thanks once again Hector; you made our stay in Bath and trip to the Cotswold most memorable. Hope to be back to see you soon; perhaps by way of your highly recommended motorcycle ride this time! Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1kwfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My wife and I have just come back from staying at this hotel for 2 nights.
It is tastefully decorated and furnished. When we were first greeted and to the time we checked out the service we received was truly excellent. Three staff stood out Katrin, Lauren and Andy .
This hotel is well worth a visit and if we return to Bath that is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindosreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.6 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
2.8 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,162
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing