We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights.Central close to all interesting points of Bath you reach the entrance very nice, the rooms are a positive surprise, very nice furniture, all facilities are met.the staff is very helpful and the cleanliness is very good.The rooms overlooking the square are better, we had the view inside and it wasn't beautiful.Definitely will return and will recommend to my friends.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rendola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    351
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Halcyon for three nights in April 2012. Bottom line: Lovely hotel with great service from the daytime staff; but DO NOT stay on the ground floor, be prepared for a small room, and expect a contemporary decor but certainly not luxury.

Pros:

-The hotel is located a short walk to/from the train station and is well-located for seeing the centre city tourist sites.

- The hotel is relatively recently refurbished with a clean, contemporary decor.

- The man who worked the front desk during the day was incredibly helpful and absolutely delightful. He set us up with dinner reservations for our first two nights and gave us lots of great recommendations on other places to eat and things to do. He also gave us a reduction in our room rate due to problems with noise (see below).

Cons:

- When we arrived, we were given a complementary "upgrade" to a "studio" room on the ground floor. I was worried that there would be a lot of noise coming from the street and hotel lobby, but the man at the front desk assured us that the room was on the back side of the hotel and therefore "very quiet". The man also invited us to visit the hotel bar in the basement which would be having several nights of "soul music" over the weekend. On the first night, a Friday, we could hear the loud thumping bass line from the music in the basement bar all night - but we were tired and were able to fall asleep without much trouble. On the second night, a Saturday, it was much worse. The music was so loud that we could understand the lyrics and sing along to the songs. We were unable to fall asleep, and I became very angry. I put my clothes on and went to the front desk where I asked the man working the night shift if we could move into an upstairs room for our third night to avoid the noise. He said that the hotel was fully booked and that we could not be moved. He said he was sorry, but that "we should have been warned about the loud music" - as if the fact that we had not been warned was our fault and not the hotel's. I went back in the room and began searching availability in other hotels with the intention of moving to a different hotel the next night. In the end, my partner looked at the basement bar's website which suggested that Sunday night would be much quieter, so we decided not to pursue the problem with the hotel further and make the best of it. We eventually feel asleep despite the continued loud noise coming from the bar. In addition to the noise from the basement bar, there were loud noises coming from the lobby. We could hear clearly every time a woman walked up the stairs in her heels, every time the someone used the hand dryers in the lobby toilets (it sounded like the maid had suddenly busted into the room with the vacuum cleaner on), and every time someone knocked on the hotel's front door. To give the hotel some credit, on the Monday morning when we checked out, the man at the front desk apologized for the noise and gave us a sizeable reduction on the rate for Saturday night.

- The quality of the refurbishment is sub-par if you look closely. There were water stains on the ceiling. The grout was coming loose from the bathroom tile. The toilet was oddly positioned so that you could rest your head on the sink while sitting on the toilet. The shower door looked like the cheapest shower door available at B&Q and allowed water to flood onto the bathroom floor.

- Even though we were upgraded to a "studio", the room was still quite small. The "studio" bit was just a small sliver of a space with a table and two chairs.

- The hotel is in an old building with all of the quirks that result - wonky shaped rooms, creaky floor boards, poor sound insulation.

Despite all the cons, I would recommend this hotel to a friend based on the location, the friendly daytime staff, and the contemporary decor. I would strongly recommend not getting a room on the ground floor. Those without high expectations will be pleasantly pleased.

-

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor - to avoid noise from the basement bar and the hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was saved by the helpful staff and great location. Also, there is a reasonably priced car park right opposite which, in Bath, is a huge bonus. Despite being described as one of the largest, the room was disappointingly small and didn't have a bath. The continental breakfast was good and the bar area was a pleasant place for a post or pre dinner drink.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chessheralison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had a great nights stay here on Easter Sunday, lovely staff greeted us on arrival, we were staying in a studio room on the first floor. Room is a decent size, paid quite a lot for the room but probably this was due to it being the Easter Bank holiday weekend.

Bar below was a real treat, had wonderful cocktails and the girl making them truly was an expert!!!

Breakfast again was up to scratch, all in all couldn't fault this Hotel, lovely staff and great location for exploring Bath by foot!

WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimroger17767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
257 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My Partner and me spent 3 superb nights at the Halcyon Hotel in Bath over the Easter weekend, was slightly apprehensive beforehand after reading the reviews about noise and being kept awake, but over the 3 nights we did not hear any noise at all, the only noises were in the morning with some seagulls but apart from that we had 3 nights of pure bliss. I would comment that due to the Hotel location being so close to all Railway & Bus Station and main shopping and tourist locations you are going to have to accept some noise.

Our room was number 2.1 which was a Standard Plus room, not massive but totally acceptable, me and my partner liked the White Company toiletries and especially loved the massive shower head and oh so lovely fluffy towels, hot water bottles were supplied which came in useful on the Thursday night as it was quite chilly.

A really nice touch when we arrived back on the Friday evening were the lovely Easter eggs left on our massive kings size bed.

Breakfasts could not be faulted at all and a real thank-you must go to our lovely receptionist and breakfast server who was so friendly, the continental breakfast was nicely laid out and I thoroughly the boiled eggs (DIY – Another Nice Touch…!), finally the choice of juices were second to none.

Overall we would thoroughly recommend the Halcyon Hotel to anyone visiting Bath who is looking for excellent and reasonably priced accommodation near to all transport and tourist locations, me and my partner have visited many places both here in the UK and abroad and would without hesitation come back to stay here again, so Hector thank you from us and please thank your fantastic, knowledgeable and professional staff for such a brilliant short break at your lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Would thoroughly recommend room 2.1 which is situated on the 2nd floor facing the back, so really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 33 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.6 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 33 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
2.8 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,468
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing